Skip to content

Spring = new beginnings

April 20, 2012

Well, hello! I’ve once again gone missing from my blog. Quite frankly, I was a little annoyed with trying to keep up with it while simulatneously enjoying life… However, I thought I’d drop back in and say hi since my work email server is down today rendering me pretty incapable of doing anything productive. 🙂

So, quick recap of what’s been going on in my life lately. In bullet form, since it’s easier:

  • We went snowshowing 🙂

  • The Ops Group on our base had a Ladies Crud tournament. We are technically part of 2 squadrons, but I played for our primary squadron, and recruited a group of my awesome ladies to play for our other squadron. My team ended up winning, but both of our teams ended up playing in the Championship Game and it was a super close game! Howdy was my own personal cheerleader for the night and made it his mission to yell encouragement, or heckle the other team. There may or may not have beem pom poms involved at one point. 🙂

  • We went to the ceremonial start of the Iditarod! (We went last year too!) This year we also participated in the Running with the Reindeer, which was pretty hysterical.


  • We skied. A lot. And it was amazing, as usual. I’m so glad I’ve gotten back into skiing since we’ve been in Alaska. I even got Howdy to go down his first Black Diamond run last month – at his own request, no less! It has really been great how much skiing we’ve been able to do this year (having record-breaking snowfall makes that easier)! I just love Alyeska and every time we’re there I’m blown away by the gorgeous scenery.

  • On the work front – Howdy started a new job, and I got a raise in my current job, so that’s all good news too! We are actually off to Hawaii tomorrow for a week! Howdy has to work the last 3 days there, but I am taking vacation to tag along and he is taking leave the first 4 days so we can hang out and enjoy some sunshine and fruity drinks. 🙂
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

