Skip to content

Ski Season is coming!

November 21, 2011

Once again I got caught up and took a longer hiatus than I intended…I can’t believe it’s been almost a month since I posted – oops! But we’ve had some exciting stuff going on around here.

Howdy took a couple of trips (believe me, this is not the norm these days!), but was home in time for his 30th birthday at the beginning of November. For his birthday I got him a new coat for skiing (and outdoor winter activities), and snowshoes! Of course, I got myself snowshoes too, because I can’t wait for us to go together. We’ve had almost 2 feet of snow accumulation around our house since the beginning of November. It’s such soft, dry, fluffy snow – so much better than the snow we had in Michigan.

Unfortunately the temperatures dropped below zero pretty much every day last week, and the winds picked up like crazy. I’m an incredibly deep sleeper, but the wind was blowing so hard one night it actually woke both Howdy and myself up at 2am! I also got a picture of my car thermometer one night last week showing the temperature as -11 before 8pm (yes, negative 11 degrees Fahrenheit). I wear a hat pretty much every time I go outside, but so far I’ve still resisted getting out my gloves.

The downside to the cold is that the snow now has a hard crust on the top of it. But we’re getting more fresh snow tonight, so hopefully that’ll make nice powder for the opening of the ski resort next Wednesday! We finally got our skis prepared for the season and picked them up. They’ve been in my car for 2 weeks now and Howdy makes fun of me for not taking them out, but I’m just so ready to get on the mountain. 🙂

This past Friday was our squadron Thanksgiving party and auction. We had a great time hanging out with everyone and checking out the venue – the Alaska Aviation Heritage Museum.

We also joined a new gym here and have been going regularly. We’ve both had some personal training sessions, and are enjoying it so far. I’ve been seeing a trainer at a different gym since the end of June, but have mixed thoughts on it…I’m still working with her until the end of December, but that’ll have to be something for another post though.

*****

Tonight’s lower body workout was short and sweet because I only had 45 minutes before the gym closed:

Exercise Weight Reps
Warm-up 5min. Walk – Treadmill 15 incline N/A
Superset 1 Braced Squat 5lb plate 15, 10, 10
Superset 1 Barbell Straight-Leg Deadlift 35lb 15, 10, 10
Superset 2 Dumbell Split Squat 7.5lb dumbells 10, 10, 10 (per leg)
Superset 2 Swiss Ball Hip Raises Bodyweight 15, 15, 15
Superset 3 Medicine Ball Suitcase Crunch 6lb medicine ball 15, 10, 10
Superset 3 Medicine Ball Seated Side Twists 6lb medicine ball 15, 15, 15
Cardio 10 min. Run/Walk – Treadmill .5 incline N/A

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2011 9:34 am

    I am so jealous of your upcoming ski season. The Gimpster can’t ski again this winter because of the most recent knee surgery.

    • November 21, 2011 3:31 pm

      That sucks! I hope his knee is healed soon! (and of course, you’re always welcome to come ski/board with us. ;))

  2. November 23, 2011 9:29 pm

    high five on your workout! :o)

Leave a Reply

