Skip to content

Non-Traditional

August 9, 2011

Early last week Howdy got home right as I was shutting down my work computer for the day. I gave him a kiss hello, and then I went to change my clothes and we went our separate ways for a couple more hours…

I went to the gym for a good, sweaty workout, then came home and showered… He went to get a haircut, went to the grocery store, then came home and made dinner. 🙂

Just a couple of days later, he came home from work and was exicited to show me what he had bought that day on his way home – a cherry-pitter and a wok from Bed Bath and Beyond.

The next day, he came home and immediately started messing around in the kitchen. I asked him what he was doing and he said “making a pie” like it was clearly the most obvious thing in the world. 🙂

And here is the pie he made himself. Pretty impressive, in my opinion:

Howdy also makes dinner for us during the week the majority of the time. He genuinely enjoys cooking and likes to look up new recipes and try his hand at cooking new things… and he’s a great cook!! I am a good cook, I just don’t particularly enjoy it and it stresses me out sometimes. I also don’t really care about food. I do enjoy eating a nice meal, but I have been known to forget to eat on a regular basis, and am fine eating pasta or soup, or something similarly uncomplicated most of the time.

So we don’t necessarily adhere to traditional gender roles around here, and that’s okay by me! And I’m so thankful for a husband that doesn’t mind picking up some non-traditional responsibilities. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2011 4:57 pm

    That pie looks amazing!

  2. Lauren Coburn permalink
    August 10, 2011 8:05 am

    i also have a “cooking” husband and it is fabulous! and that pie is AMAZING! i love the detail! super impressive!!! high five, howdy!

Leave a Reply

