Skip to content

Random happenings

July 20, 2011

So, I’ve been MIA again, but I can’t really say I’m sorry about it. This summer in Alaska has just been entirely too gorgeous to be cooped up behind my computer all day (while I’m working) and all night too. In case you’re wondering, or just for my own documenting purposes – whichever, here are some thoughts on things happening around here (in bullet form, of course)…

  • I’ve been learning to golf! Well, we’ve been going to the driving range mostly, but I’m pretty good at it! 🙂 I had been to the driving range 2 other times in Charleston, but that was it. We played one actual round of golf back in May just before the greens “officially” opened. It was twilight golf for $9 total! It’s not true “twilight” golf in Alaska in the summer though. They charged Howdy the $9 for his round, and he told them I was going to walk with him, and might play some of the holes, but they didn’t charge for my round at all. I ended up playing 13 (maybe 14?) of them. I skipped the par 5 holes because I didn’t want to get discouraged when I sucked at them. We had a lot of fun, and there are some interesting pictures to go along with that, so I’ll have to do a full post on it later.
  • Obviously, we’ve been hiking and backpacking… I also need to do a post on another amazing hike we did in mid June (see how behind I am?!)
  • We’ve been hanging out a lot with 2 other couples. They both were stationed in Washington before this, and one currently lives on our street (half a mile down the hill), and the other couple just bought a house on our street (a quarter mile up the hill), so we’ve done a lot of walking around the neighborhood together too. Our group is quite the sight with 3 women, 5 dogs, and 1 toddler in a stroller.
  • I’ve been learning German… because, why not? 😉
  • I’ve started seeing a trainer once a week for the last month. I’ve also kicked up my workouts to about 1-1.5hrs 4-5 days a week, usually after work. Obviously, this also takes away from “blog time”. I bought a new heart rate monitor too because I’m very motivated by numbers – and I’ve become obsessed with it (as my facebook friends have probably seen already). ha.
  • Howdy has an injury (not too serious, but very painful) and has to have surgery next month… 12 days before we leave for vacation… so, it’s less than ideal, but at least we didn’t have to cancel it and he’ll be out of pain sooner rather than later – even though a month is a long time to wait.
  • I’ve got another, bigger piece of news, but I need to wait a bit to announce it. It’s another big reason I haven’t been blogging as much… It’s been on my mind all the time, and it made it hard to think of blog posts that weren’t related. So hopefully I’ll be able to talk more about that in the next week or so. (and I’ll go ahead and tell you now – I am NOT pregnant)
And lastly, I’ll just leave you with one quick Instagram picture from my drive home from the gym. Yes, I see this view every. single. day. I love my life. 🙂
(note: the whitest part in the very middle is the glacier we can see from our neighborhood – and from our living room in the winter/fall)
2 Comments leave one →
  1. laurenchestnutt@gmail.com permalink
    July 22, 2011 1:30 pm

    the more pictures you post… the more excited i get! xxoo

  2. July 25, 2011 11:51 pm

    wow, that is a lot of happenings. i hope that the surgery/vacation works out ok without being too stressful.

    and i’m glad that you said your surprise isn’t pregnancy…cause it totally sounded like that’s what is was going to be. so, my guess is that you’re moving or changing jobs or something like that. can’t wait to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

