Skip to content

It’s been a busy couple of weeks…

May 11, 2011

I keep meaning to post, but there’s been so much going on lately that I haven’t have a lot of time, and when I finally DO sit down to post something, it seems really overwhelming because there are just so many things I want to talk about. *sigh*. But, honestly I’d rather have the problem of my real life being so busy that I don’t have time to blog, than having a ton of time to blog and nothing to write about… so it’s not all bad. 🙂

I’ll try to recap the main events of what I’ve been up to lately at least…

On April 23rd, I went with a group of my girl friends to see Chelsea Handler for the last show of her Chelsea Chelsea Bang Bang tour. We had dinner at The Brewhouse beforehand, and then had a great time laughing during the show. Then of course, we got up at the crack of dawn the next day to celebrate Easter. Howdy was out of town, but my friend Tonya invited me to Easter dinner at her house, and it was a great time – and they made a TON of delicious food!

Girls at Chelsea Handler – they don’t know about the blog, so I didn’t want to put the full picture online

May 1st was Emily’s birthday, and her husband threw a birthday party for her at their house. Luckily they live on our same street, so Howdy and I just walked down to their house – carrying the gift and flowers we got her for her birthday. We got a couple of strange looks, but whatever. They made kabobs (shrimp ones especially for me!), twice-baked potatoes, and grilled sweet corn…so good! And of course, while at their house the news that Osama bin Laden was found and killed was announced. In a room filled entirely with military men who have been to the Middle East many times, and their spouses, I’m sure you can imagine how that news was received.

May 5th was obviously Cinco de Mayo, and Emily and her husband, Zach, invited us over for a completely homemade Mexican meal, so once again we walked down. This time with 2 types of margarita mix. 🙂 And I have to say, the new Jose Cuervo Classic Light Margarita? #winning. Like I said, Emily made all the food from scratch, including homemade sopapillas and horchata – amazing!!

May 6th, we went out for my friend Rachael’s birthday party at a totally creeptastic bar called Platinum Jax (or Platinum Jack’s – I saw it spelled both ways). Emily was invited too, so I picked her up on my way and we met up with my friends Mary and Kati for dinner at Sacks Cafe downtown before the party started – and Kati had a Groupon, so that was even better! Platinum Jax was downtown too, so we just walked over after dinner. We socialized for a while when we got there, had a few drinks and then hit the dance floor. Emily, Mary and I were the last 3 from the party to leave, so we were gross and sweaty from hours of dancing by the time we left – just the way I like it! 🙂

The rest of last weekend I enjoyed with Howdy. Saturday we went mattress shopping, which has been LONG overdue, and finally purchased a new mattress. Of course, they didn’t have it in stock and since it’s Alaska we have to wait ~2 weeks for the next shipment – but at least it’s ordered! We had dinner at L’aroma cafe in New Sagaya (I crave their veggie sandwich on marble rye), then hit up Best Buy before seeing Thor. Among the things we bought at Best Buy:

That’s right – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, part 1 Blu-Ray/DVD combo pack (excuse the blurry iPhone pic). Don’t be fooled by the price tag though! It was on sale for $14.99!! The weirdest thing was that the Blu-Ray alone was “on sale” for $19.99… You would think getting 3 copies of the same movie (B-R, DVD, digital copy) would be more expensive than just the Blu-Ray, but whatever- it’s my gain! I also bought HP6 on Blu-Ray a few months ago at Wal-Mart for $10! Howdy hadn’t seen either one of them, so Sunday afternoon he actually agreed to watch HP6 and HP7.1 back-to-back with me… which was basically a minor miracle. 😛

Also, Thor was good! I liked it much more than I thought I would, and the actor playing Thor was fantastic for an unknown guy! I was impressed! I am typically drawn to dark-haired, clean-cut guys, which is basically the opposite of Chris Hemsworth in this movie, but he was officially on my “hot” list by the end. 😉

There have been a couple of coffees with the squadrons and other random social events thrown in the last few weeks too, but the things listed above are pretty much the biggest things I can think of right now… Can’t wait for more fun times this coming weekend!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    May 17, 2011 3:33 pm

    Those are some crazy looking friends, you sure they aren’t on some most wanted list somewhere?

Leave a Reply

