Skip to content

The Break-Up

April 29, 2011

Now that the break-up is nearly over, it’s a good time to talk about it, right? No, don’t worry, Howdy and I are not breaking up. 😉

Alaskans call the end of winter “The Break-up”. All winter everything is covered with layer upon layer of compact snow and ice, and as it gets warmer it starts to melt and “break up” (duh!). When I lived in Michigan for the first 15 years of my life we got our fair share of snow, and I think Michigan even got more snow this winter than we did here in Alaska, but it’s just different here. Up here, once the snow falls it seems to stay most of the winter. Apparently this winter was a little unusual in that we had 3 “thaws” before the final break-up.

Everyone starts to get excited about the break-up starting in late March. I was pretty ambivalent about it for a while though. I mean, sure, the snow is melting… I’m glad it’s getting warmer but I’m so sick of having mud everywhere!!

Then, on the couple of Saturdays we went down to ski at Alyeska, and even when we went to Seward and back, driving along the Turnagain Arm, I saw how incredibly different the Cook Inlet looks during the break-up and I was fascinated. And it definitely makes it crystal clear why Alaskans call it “The Break-up”.

This is what the Cook Inlet looks like in the Summer along the Turnagain Arm, just in case you haven’t seen it:

And this was taken from the exact same spot a couple of weeks ago (just zoomed in a little bit more than above):

Isn’t that amazing?! Instead of water you just see all those craters of mud and ice!

Here are a few more because I just couldn’t help myself – I really thought it was such an interesting sight.

And lastly 🙂 :

So there is still some snow up on the mountain peaks around here, but the snow on the ground is totally gone! I think it’s pretty safe to say The Break-up is over and Spring is here!!! 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 9:35 am

    That is so beautiful! I can’t believe the change.

  2. Lauren Coburn permalink
    May 3, 2011 10:05 am

    amazing! i love it!

  3. May 6, 2011 4:05 pm

    Your life is pretty incredible, can’t believe you live so lose to such amazing scenery.

    • May 11, 2011 10:01 pm

      Thanks! It’s not for everybody, but I feel pretty lucky! 🙂

Leave a Reply

