Skip to content

Attitude is everything

April 27, 2011

I often say that one of my main philosophies in life is that I can’t control everything (which is really hard for my control-freak self to accept), but I can control how I react to things – including my attitude. As a military spouse, with much of our lives controlled by whims of the government, this has basically become a mantra for me.

While I feel I’ve done a pretty good job of embracing this when it comes to where we’re going to live, how often I get to see my husband, how stressed he is by parts of his job, etc… I realized a couple of weeks ago that I have really been lacking in my attitude toward my job. If you’ve read this for any length of time, you know that despite trying to avoid talking about work on my blog, I still manage to do quite a bit of complaining about it.

Ever since I realized a couple of weeks ago how atrocious my attitude was, I’ve decided to make a concerted effort to stay positive and not let it get me down. I’ve been focusing on the things I love about working from home and exercising most days during my lunch break, and/or after work. Between making a point to have a good attitude, and sweating out any frustrations (because let’s face it, I do still talk to some really stupid people throughout the day and that’s always frustrating even when I am in a good mood), I’ve been able to significantly improve my work experience lately. Nothing about my job has changed, but my attitude is different… and attitude is everything. 🙂

source

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2011 1:21 pm

    And your post just passed along some “good mood vibes” as I drink my morning coffee and catch up on blogs. 🙂 Thanks!

  2. April 29, 2011 8:30 am

    i totally agree! my attitude fluctuates WAY more than is acceptable. i often forget that i have an influence over that and can choose to be more positive…. thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

