Skip to content

Taking lazy to a new level

April 14, 2011
tags: , ,

Our smoke detector has been beeping since Sunday. Yes, SUNDAY. In case you didn’t realize – it is now Thursday. We are going on 5 days of the beeping. As of now it will beep a couple of times every few hours. But it’s starting to be more frequent. It’s very annoying and I forget about it – until it beeps again. Granted, this is the whole point of the beep – so that we don’t forget about it.

Last night, Howdy drove across town to get groceries and a battery for the smoke detector. He took a list with him. He came home with all of the groceries – and no battery.

The sad part? There is a Walmart (you know, that store that sells basically everything and is open 24-hours a day) 2 miles from our house. The walk around our neighborhood loop that we took the dogs on Monday night? 2.34 miles. So we could easily have walked to Walmart and bought a 9V battery. Or we could have driven. But apparently that would be too easy, and why would we do that when we can just be lazy, listen to the annoying beep and “deal with it later”?!

Not to mention that Howdy drives to and from work every day… and I am working from home all day, with a car, 2 miles from a Walmart that I could easily run to on my lunch break. Yep we’re taking laziness and procrastination to a whole new level around here folks. 😛

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2011 9:34 am

    I did this too. Mine was beeping, I didn’t have a battery, so it’s now unplugged. Hope I don’t have a fire!

  2. April 15, 2011 3:16 pm

    Oh man. I couldn’t stand mine – and the dogs were going crazy over it. I had the battery but no ladder. That’s the problem with 12 foot ceilings. I called my neighbor crying hysterically to come home and open his storage locker for me to get his ladder.

    • April 15, 2011 8:28 pm

      If the dogs were going crazy about it, I guarantee it would have been fixed by now! They just ignore it though. (an update – it is now Friday evening and we still don’t have a battery…)

      • April 18, 2011 8:19 pm

        I already told you that you jinxed me, so I had to come back and tell everyone that you’re a jinx! My smoke detector started beeping Sunday night and dummy Tex would bark and then attack the floor. Because the floor was the natural place to attack when the beeping was coming from 12 ft higher on the ceiling. We should set a reminder to change our batteries this time next year.

  3. Kelly permalink
    April 18, 2011 3:33 pm

    I was going to say, “the ultimate laziness would be to uplug it”, but I don’t want Little J to feel bad.

  4. April 20, 2011 8:57 am

    Haha, it’s ok Kelly. I figure my boyfriend should have gone out and gotten me a battery, but HE’s the one who unplugged it, because even standing on a chair I can’t reach!

Leave a Reply

