Skip to content

April already?! Is this a joke?

April 1, 2011

Wow. This year is FLYING by!! I can’t believe we’re now in the second quarter! And I’ve barely posted about anything I did in March. le sigh. Life has such a sneaky habit of getting in the way…and that is most definitely not a joke.

So I posted about the wonderful time we had skiing last weekend, but now I’m going to back it up to a couple of weeks ago.

At around 2am local time on 3/10 – I was boarding a plane on my way to Orlando for my friend’s wedding, which I mentioned a while back). I flew from Anchorage to Phoenix, and then Phoenix to Orlando… along with about 3 high school cheerleading squads headed there for their nationals, which was taking place over spring break. Definitely took me back to my own days of competitive cheerleading… and made me realize how obnoxious I must have been back then (as if much has changed…) haha. 😉

Anyway – after 13.5 hours of traveling I FINALLY made it to Florida! I stayed at the Coronado Springs Resort on the Disney properties, and included was Disney’s Magical Express. I had never heard of it before, but it was SO nice!! Basically a week or two before my trip, they sent me a luggage tag for one bag if I was checking it. After checking in at the airport, I didn’t have to worry about the bag again. I landed in Orlando, went to the Magical Express area at MCO (Orlando International Airport), got on a charter bus, and was taken directly to my hotel, and I had checked in online while we were on the bus. No waiting at baggage check, very little wait to check in… just got my room key and went right to my room. In the information they sent with the luggage tags, they said it could take up to 3 hours until they delivered the bag to the room, so I had packed a fresh change of comfy clothes in my carry-on, and used the in-room toiletries to take a nice hot shower. My luggage was delivered to my room at 3hrs on the dot, then I grabbed a quick meal at the resort cafe. By this point it had been about 22 hours since I left Alaska, and I crashed in the super-comfy bed:

I slept in the next day (recovering from the long day of traveling and the 4-hour time difference), then met up with everyone for the rehearsal/rehearsal dinner. It was very casual since the rehearsal dinner was in the Animal Kingdom park, and we were going on a safari ride before the dinner started. The bride and bridesmaids all wore matching Disney sundresses, flip-flops, and pashminas. I wasn’t sure how I would feel about it, but it actually turned out pretty cute.

(I’m so white I’m GLOWING!! I told you I was pale…)

Dinner was fantastic, but when the sun went down the temperature really dropped. That weekend there were near-record lows in the Orlando area – in the 40s. And even though it was still much warmer than Alaska, it didn’t feel like it! It’s amazing what a difference the lack of humidity makes in how cold you actually “feel”. After dinner, the charter bus took us over to our respective resorts, and then the bride and her soon-to-be husband came back to pick me up and I stayed with her at her suite in the Animal Kingdom Lodge the night before the wedding. Not only was it great to spend time together, since we live so far apart now, but it turned out to be a really good thing, because of all the shenanigans that went on the next day… Which I will fill you in on in my next post. 🙂

But just to hold you over until next time… here is a picture of a rhino we saw on the safari ride:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren Coburn permalink
    April 3, 2011 9:32 am

    i think you look awesome! glowing = not in artificial sun per say…and that is way more healthy. :o) (but i do miss my tanning bed day! grrr!)

  2. April 4, 2011 8:04 am

    I have been waiting for posts and pictures of this wedding…. Keep them coming!

  3. April 9, 2011 1:32 am

    how fun! love the dresses!

Leave a Reply

