Skip to content

A Perfect Saturday!

March 27, 2011

I finally got around to uploading pictures from the last 2 weeks – so there should be a few more blog posts in the near future! But first I wanted to tell you about the amazing Saturday we had yesterday!

On Friday night I went downtown to Muse, and Humpy’s, for a Girl’s Night Out. It was a fun time, and during the night I made plans with my friend Lindsey to go skiing the next morning. So after getting home at 12:30am, Howdy and I were up by 8am. With the help of a lot of coffee and a quick breakfast, we were ready to go when Matt and Lindsey picked us up at 9am. They also brought another guy, John, along with us. After a short stop at Sports Authority to rent skis (cheaper and faster there than at the mountain), we headed down to Alyeska for the day! (You may remember that Howdy and I spent the weekend at the resort there over Halloween weekend.) Alyeska is about 45 minutes south of our house, and we were able to enjoy the gorgeous Turnagain Arm views on the way.

I’ve been meaning to go skiing all winter, but this is the first time I’ve actually made it. Oh well, at least I got out there before the snow melted! I did the math and realized it had been SEVEN YEARS since the last time I went skiing!! My mom and step-dad were ski instructors from the time I was 5 years old until I was 13, so I grew up skiing from 8am-4:30pm every single Saturday during the winter. We also took ski vacations all over the country (Colorado, California/Nevada, Utah, New Mexico, etc…). I kind of got away from it after I moved to Texas when I was 15. There was the occasional Spring Break ski trip to Colorado or New Mexico, but that was it. So the last time I was skiing was when I went to Vail with my college roommate and some friends from the Air Force Academy in January 2004 – a few months before Howdy and I met!

Howdy had never stepped into a pair of skis in his life until yesterday. He spent one day in college trying to snowboard with his friends (who were expert snowboarders and didn’t really try to teach him or have the patience to wait for him), and had a miserable time. I have been reassuring him for years that skiing is so much easier to learn, and I was sure he’d enjoy it. So yesterday I finally had the chance to prove it! πŸ™‚

We were on the mountain by 11am, and after a few stressful (yet hilarious in hindsight) moments of Howdy sliding backwards immediately after putting on his skis, despite there being no apparent incline – I got him on the bunny hill. We told Matt, Lindsey and John to go ahead and go while I taught Howdy how to ski! It was my first time ever teaching anyone, and he did so great!! I was so proud of him for sticking it out and excited that he seemed to enjoy it! After 5 or 6 times down the bunny hill, the rest of the group came back and we went up the first chairlift to the green trails.

I was so impressed with Howdy!! He did a great job, and after only 3 or 4 runs, he showed exponential improvement! We took a break for lunch, and I had a delicious meal of fried halibut and sweet potato fries. After lunch, Howdy stayed on the green trails with Matt, who is also a beginner and was on his 4th time skiing. I went with Lindsey and John to ski some more challenging runs further up the mountain.

It was gorgeous!! It was a very warm day, so the snow was a little more slushy than I normally like and the runs were pretty choppy in the afternoon – but there wasn’t much wind or ice, so it was just fine. It’s crazy that my muscle memory is still there after so many years, but it all came right back and I had so much fun!

(surprise! This is the first picure of me on this little blog… haha)

The group:

Another of our group – Howdy is the little red dot on the right side in the trees. It was a funny moment and I had to get a picture:

Howdy only fell a few times, and was looking pretty comfortable by the end of the day. He did take one hard fall after lunch that I didn’t see, but judging by the bruise on his leg today, it was a big one. 😦 But it didn’t deter him and he was all smiles when we met back up with them for the last few runs of the day. I was so glad that we went, and the weather was beautiful! There were a couple of clouds floating around, but the sun was out the whole time and we had some great views!

Overall, Howdy said he really enjoyed himself and that he’s ready to make skiing “our winter sport”. I couldn’t be happier! I’m not sure if we’ll be able to get out there again before the end of the season, but if not –Β  there’s always next winter! πŸ™‚

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren Coburn permalink
    March 28, 2011 7:51 am

    Love the pictures! Yay for Howdy learning how to ski! Again… very excited. :o)

  2. March 28, 2011 8:46 am

    So happy you guys went skiing! I took Jeremy to Killington this weekend, and he skiied for the first time in 4 years, and first time post major reconstructive knee surgery. Now we can start to plan ski trips together….

    I miss you guys 😦

    • March 28, 2011 12:48 pm

      Ski trips together would be so fun!! πŸ™‚

      • March 30, 2011 1:16 pm

        We just need to get you guys back on the mainland…

  3. Stephanie permalink
    March 28, 2011 12:19 pm

    How fun!

  4. March 28, 2011 12:40 pm

    love love love being up on the mountains! one of the best things about mr. dawn is that he already loved snowboarding before we started dating. its awesome that howdy is exciting about skiing πŸ™‚ must spend time in the mountains!!!!

    • March 28, 2011 12:49 pm

      I was SO relieved that he enjoyed skiing! And I completely agree about being up in the mountains. It’s the most relaxing thing to me to be up there. πŸ™‚

    • February 3, 2012 10:04 pm

      Double bakcls at Whistler are FAR more advanced than double bakcls pretty much anywhere else.When it says expert skiers only – It really means expert skiers only.I highly recommend taking the Symphomy Express at the top of Whistler Mountain and skiing the Rhapsody bowl (blue) before skiing the Flute Bowls beside it (double Black)If those double bakcls are what you are looking for, than go to Blackcomb side and take the Glacier Express to Spanky’s Ladder and ski the double black bowls there. You’ll never ski anything like it unless you travel into backcountry or heliski.

  5. jill permalink
    March 31, 2011 11:44 pm

    The views are amazing! Glad you both had a good ski day. I haven’t gone skiing in years. Must come visit next winter..or you can come here…the big island has ski slopes!

  6. April 1, 2011 9:44 am

    Hey! I just looked on http://www.liftopia.com for you, and that resort you went to does offer discounted tickets, so if you plan to go again, go grab some!

    • April 1, 2011 9:57 am

      That’s a handy little site!! Our military discount is actually about $1 less than the price on there, but I’m definitely going to bookmark that site for future use! πŸ™‚

      • January 20, 2013 3:37 pm

        Thank you for taking the time to post this video. I turn 50 this year, am 50 lbs over my ideal wghiet and a Ski Patrol Canidate at our local ski resort. I have approximatly 10 months to get the wghiet off and get into my best shape for PATROL qualification tests. I will be using your videos as I get stonger and hopefully much smaller. thanks from Mt Lemmon (Ski Valley) Arizona USA

  7. June 20, 2014 3:15 pm

    I believe this is one of the such a lot significant
    information for me. And i’m satisfied reading your article.
    However should commentary on some common issues, The site taste is ideal, the articles is
    really excellent : D. Excellent activity, cheers

Trackbacks

  1. April already?! Is this a joke? « If Here Was There
  2. The Break-Up « If Here Was There
  3. Keeping Busy « If Here Was There

Leave a Reply

