Skip to content

Mani/Pedis! and LPDs?

February 13, 2011

On Tuesday we had a “spouse appreciation coffee” with one of our squadrons. Instead of the typical “coffee”-that does not include actual coffee – they reserved a nail salon for a private party so we could all get mani/pedis! It was fabulous! I’m a little embarrassed to admit I hadn’t had either a manicure or pedicure since we arrived in Alaska last May. We were served champagne and sparkling grape juice, along with fruit, cookies, brownies, and shrimp cocktail. I fully expected to pay for my mani/pedi, but the commander’s and DO’s wives paid for everyone, and I ended up only paying to tip my technician. I also brought my own polish, so I would be able to touch it up as needed.

I got the same color on my feet, but I didn’t take a picture – you’re welcome. I went with a pretty neutral color since I’m not sure if I’ll get another manicure or pedicure before the wedding in a few weeks, and I wanted to make sure it wouldn’t clash with the bridesmaid dress. I tend to chip my manicures in about 2 days, but it’s been 5 days and they’re still looking good! 🙂

Speaking of the dress for the wedding- It’s been changed. It’s pretty last minute, but the bride preferred a purple dress from the start and just found one that could arrive in time. The new dress:

I like this one too, and purple is a good color for me, but I am a tiny bit worried about the pleating. I zoomed in on the dress on the website, and it seems like it is actually kind of striped with lighter/darker purple – meaning it’s not quite as pleated as it looks in the picture. But we’ll see for sure when it gets here I suppose.

Confession – I have a small addiction to purple dresses. I’m not really sure why, since I don’t own that much purple in general, but I noticed last night that I have SIX LPDs in my closet! (LPD = Little Purple Dress, as opposed to the LBD). None of them are floor-length, and they are all a dark eggplant or aubergine color, so this long, light purple one is a little bit of a change from my norm at least.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2011 1:15 pm

    Wait! Did you have to buy a second dress, or is she paying for this one?? Yikes!

    • February 14, 2011 5:02 pm

      she’s paying half of either one… meaning she buys and I’ll write her a check later. But the other dress wasn’t ordered yet (long story) so it’s all good.

Trackbacks

  1. April already?! Is this a joke? « If Here Was There

Leave a Reply

