Skip to content

Breakfast, Bookshelves, and Booties

February 5, 2011

This morning Howdy and I woke up early and drove into Anchorage for breakfast. He thought I should try the sourdough pancakes at Gwennie’s:

I ordered the avocado and cheese omelet, Howdy ordered some sort of egg and sausage breakfast and we decided to split an order of the sourdough pancakes. The portions at this place were HUGE! I think there must have been about 8 eggs in the omelet, and it came with 2 biscuits and home fries. Also, I didn’t realize that the “cheese” in my omelet was going to be cheese sauce. *shudder* Not a fan. Luckily (?) it was poured over the top, so I was able to scrape most of it off, and I ate about a third of what was on my plate. The sourdough pancakes were also giant. They gave us the option of ordering 1,2, or 3, and we went with 2 since we were going to split them. We each had half a pancake. It was delicious, but overall just WAY more food than we could eat.

After breakfast we came home and Howdy started assembling the second bookshelf we bought a couple of weeks ago for the office. I helped him bring the box in from the garage because the bookshelf weighs about 115lbs, but once he got started putting it together the dogs and I were kind of in the way, so I decided to take them for a walk. We bought some booties to protect their pads when I walk them in the ice/snow, but this was their first time trying them on. Watching them try to walk in them was hysterical. Howdy recorded it with his phone, so I can share it with you! (Just ignore the random bookshelf pieces and packaging.) 🙂

Jackson was first, and he didn’t know what to think about them. He’s pretty timid anyway, and ultimately I ended up leaving him at home because he refused to walk in them:

Nelson did try to walk in them, but he was falling all over the place like he was drunk. Once we were outside he got the hang of it, and we went for a 2.4-mile walk around our normal neighborhood loop, but his initial reaction was definitely more entertaining than Jackson’s:

Anybody else ever put booties on their dogs? From all of the similar videos on YouTube, I know our dogs aren’t the only ones who didn’t like them at first.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Becca Hagerla permalink
    February 5, 2011 11:39 pm

    That was so hysterical! Thanks for sharing! My dog would have a fit!

  2. February 6, 2011 9:49 am

    HA!!!! mr. dawn and i just had a great laugh at those videos!!! well…i laughed, he tried…and then started coughing up a lung 🙂

    sourdough pancakes sound yummy! i can’t believe they pour cheese sauce on a perfectly good omelette!

  3. Jen B permalink
    February 6, 2011 4:25 pm

    Blaine and I just had the best laugh at watching the boys trying to figure out what on earth to do with the booties on their feet! Too funny!! Thanks for sharing, they are so cute. 🙂

  4. Lindsey permalink
    February 10, 2011 11:55 am

    These videos are hilarious!

  5. February 11, 2011 7:04 pm

    That video of the booties is HYSTERICAL! So glad you taped it.

  6. Rachel P permalink
    February 12, 2011 11:09 pm

    I enjoyed the dog videos! Sydney would definitely not be pleased to have anything on her feet like that but I’m sure it would be hilarious to try! And, I second your feelings about cheese sauce, Michelle…. definitely not to be passed off as real cheese! Hope you guys are well!

Leave a Reply

