Skip to content

Girls’ Nights

January 22, 2011

Thursday night was our monthly Bunco game. One of the regulars moved to Hawaii in September, but since she is still waiting on housing down there, she came back to Alaska for a month while her husband is TDY. At Bunco the girls decided we simply had to go out for a girls’ night on Friday to celebrate her birthday, which was last week.

So last night after work Tonya and Jill picked me up, and we met everyone at Rachael’s house. 9 of us piled clown-car-style into Tammy’s rental suburban and headed downtown. A few other girls met us down there, and we had dinner at Orso, my favorite restaurant in Anchorage (so far). I got my usual – Spinach with Apple-Thyme Viniagrette salad, and Alaskan King Crab and Risotto cakes – plus a couple of mojitos.

After dinner we went to the local gay bar for their Friday night drag show. (Yep, you read that right). Apparently a couple of the women with us had been there before for bachelorette parties, and decided it would be fun for a birthday party too. It was definitely interesting. We had the VIP booth, where we danced and sang along with the music. When the show was over we went to the other side of the bar to get in some dancing on the dance floor. I was so excited because I LOVE to dance, and I hadn’t been dancing since we moved here in May!!

One of the women with us, who I just met last night, drove Tonya, Jill, and myself home around 1am. Tonya and Jill live about a half-mile from me, and it turns out Lisa (the one who drove us home) lives about 8 houses down from me. She’s also a runner and is going to start training for her first marathon this summer. We talked about starting to run together when the snow melts, so it would be great to finally have a running buddy!

I did feel bad when I got into the house and realized Howdy wasn’t home. I called him, only to discover that he was driving around downtown just waiting for me to call so he could come pick us up (we had arranged for him to be our DD earlier in the night).  He was figuring it was almost 2am and the bars would be closing soon, so he would just head that way so we didn’t have to wait outside in the cold until he got there. How sweet is that?! But I didn’t know he had left the house, and figured since we found alternative transportation there was no need to call – oops!

I woke up this morning around 7am, let the dogs out, and then went back to bed. I finally got up at 2pm! I can’t remember the last time I slept that long! And Howdy was wonderful and made coffee for me, just the way I like it.  I’d say this girls’ night was a huge success! 😉

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2011 10:20 pm

    how fun!!! gay bar? drag show? sounds like the perfect girls’ night out!

    and how sweet is howdy? so cute that he was driving around town so you wouldn’t have to wait for him in the cold. that is the sign of a true gentleman who loves his wife very much!

    and on top of all that a potential new running partner? best night ever!

  2. January 24, 2011 2:10 pm

    Yay for a new running buddy! Kat and I are going crazy with the snow and freezing temps, it leaves us pretty much not having a place to run outside, which I hate!

Leave a Reply

