Skip to content

Speaking of the weather…

January 16, 2011

Apparently after I was bragging about how warm it was up here in Alaska last week, somebody thought it would be funny to send us the coldest temperatures I have ever been in. ha….ha…..ha. The high today is negative 2 degrees, and the current temperature (at noon) is NEGATIVE FIFTEEN!!! That is no joke. Even the local ski slopes, where they also have tubing, ice skating, etc… are closed due to the temperatures.

I’m proud of us though – the frigid weather hasn’t stopped us from getting out of the house (which actually kind of surprised me). On Friday night we went downtown to Snow Goose for a going away dinner for a few people in one of Howdy’s squadrons. Temperature was -6. On our way home after dinner we got a call from some of our friends here and went to their house for dessert and a game night. We played boys against the girls and the girls won both games (woohoo!!). When we were driving home at 1am, the truck said it was -9 outside.

Yesterday we did stay in most of the day drinking coffee and cuddling with the dogs under a blanket while the fire was going… but for dinner we got ourselves bundled up in a couple of layers and went out for Mexican food. At 6:30pm the temperature was -9. After dinner we decided to make our own double-feature at the movies since it was a nice indoor activity. We saw The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader in 3D and then The King’s Speech.

The Chronicles of Narnia movie annoyed me. I have loved those books since my aunt gave them to me for my 7th birthday, and I’ve read them so many times I’ve lost count. I actually re-read The Voyage of the Dawn Treader as my first book of 2011 (doesn’t count toward my 31 books though). For the movie they changed the entire storyline around, including adding a few extra elements that were a BIG change, but kept enough of the original pieces that it didn’t seem to flow well or make a lot of sense. It was not a good movie, and Howdy who hasn’t read that particular book in the series thought the movie was awful too (so it’s not just me being bitter that they didn’t follow the book exactly). I was looking forward to seeing the movie and thought they’ve done an okay job with the other two movies, but this one was just awful. Two thumbs down – do not recommend it.

The King’s Speech on the other hand was wonderful!! We both LOVED it. We like period pieces, and I think I’ve told you before that we are big history nerds. 🙂 I am a big fan of Colin Firth in general, and the movie was so well done. Geoffrey Rush and Helena Bonham Carter did a great job. It was funny, without trying too hard for the laugh, and endearing; Firth was perfect in his role. We plan to buy it as soon as it’s released on DVD/Blu-ray and I highly recommend it!!

On our way home from the theater at 11:30pm the truck temperature gauge was alternating between -11 and -13 degrees. Brrr… And that brings us to today with even colder temperatures! I think the low tonight is supposed to be around -24. As I mentioned in the beginning, the high today is supposed to be -2, but the high tomorrow is only -4. Supposedly we’ll be back into the 20s again by Wednesday… so that’s a pretty big shift. It’s kind of crazy to think we can gain 30 degrees in temperature and still be 10 below freezing. haha.

I hope everyone has a nice weekend! I’m excited to have Monday off, it’s pretty much the best thing to happen in 2011 so far. 😉

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen B. permalink
    January 16, 2011 6:40 pm

    BRRRRR…BRRRRR…BRRRRRRRRRR! I really cannot even imagine what that must feel like on your skin. My first trip to Alaska, I think it got down to -7, and that felt like needles piercing my face! Stay warm!! I really like the idea of coffee, cuddling, and the fireplace. 🙂

  2. Kelly permalink
    January 18, 2011 9:02 am

    serves you right for bragging.

  3. January 20, 2011 11:40 am

    now that is DOWNRIGHT cold! good for you guys braving the temps and going out anyway!

    i totally want to see the king’s speech. i’m even more excited about it now 🙂

  4. January 20, 2011 5:08 pm

    We had a few days if negative temps…but your beat ours!

    And we didn’t do anything “outdoors”

    You win.

Leave a Reply

