Skip to content

It’s downright balmy around here

January 12, 2011

We are having some crazy weather right now! Every day so far this week, the weather at my house in Alaska has been warmer than where my family lives in Texas, and where we used to live in South Carolina!  Temperatures in the high 30s and low 40s in early January are NOT normal for Alaska (not that I’ve been around here during this time of the year before, but that’s what everyone is telling me).

Another odd thing is that if you drive about 15 minutes from my house into downtown Anchorage, it’s about 20 degrees colder than it is here. This is weird to me, because Anchorage is at sea-level, and I live on the side of a mountain, further north- but I’m not complaining!! After a few weeks of sub-zero temps at the end of December, 30s is a genuine heat wave!

The only downside to the warmer temps is that we still have several months of winter coming, and it will dip back below freezing – probably sooner rather than later. That means all the snow that has melted is going to become ice. This happened last week, and it’s a big part of why I’m glad to work from home!

Nelson and Jackson are happy though, because it means they get to go for a walk outside! I’m happy to go for a walk outside too now that my treadmill is acting up. 😦 Howdy was supposed to call the warranty people today to schedule an appointment for them to come fix it. Basically the belt won’t stay straight and moves to one side or the other. We have exhausted everything we know of to fix it and it just keeps getting worse. Since we just bought the treadmill in October, we shouldn’t be having issues with the belt, and it’s been doing this since the second week. I am very frustrated with the whole thing, and may or may not have spent 3 hours of my life on Monday cursing, kicking, and throwing things around the room while trying to fix it.

Side note – I “fixed it” previously, which is why we haven’t called the repair people until now. It was working fine for the 2 months while Howdy was gone, but when he got home and started using it again the issues reappeared. I don’t know if it’s because of how he runs on it, or because he weighs more than me, so it makes the problem worse, or what… but it shouldn’t matter. The belt shouldn’t be moving around regardless. SO… hopefully they get out here quickly and get it taken care of so I can start running again, otherwise I’m going to be one grumpy girl.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen B. permalink
    January 12, 2011 8:54 pm

    Wow, those do seem to be abnormal temps! I’m glad the “heatwave” allows for some outdoor walks for the boys, though. It was 61 degrees here the other night (I think the record low for Hawaii is like 57 degrees!) and we turned on the heater in the truck! 🙂

  2. January 13, 2011 8:06 am

    I hear you on the crazy weather! Ummm hello Atlanta getting dumped on and Denver? 50s!

    I also hear you loud and clear on the running. I feel like such a slug!! I’ve been trying yoga, though, at home…I record the tv workouts and then follow along…(I know. Real winner right here 🙂 )

  3. Lauren Coburn permalink
    January 13, 2011 7:21 pm

    brrrrrr. we are freezing in the lowcountry!!!

  4. January 14, 2011 7:27 pm

    nothing seems normal about this winter. we had no snow on new years, then we got dumped on…and it has been mild 20-30’s the past week. its a little unnerving. i must admit i’ve been pretty jealous of the cold and snow that they’re getting down south…

    hope you get your treadmill fixed!

Trackbacks

  1. Speaking of the weather… « If Here Was There

Leave a Reply

