Skip to content

Working from Home

January 4, 2011
tags: , ,

I’ve been super frustrated with my job lately. I’m not going to go into all of those details because they’re annoying and depressing, and I’m trying to stay positive…

So, in an effort to boost the positivity around here, and indulge my obsession with lists… I’m going to focus on the things that I love about working from home.

  1. No commute! This is HUGE!! Not only do I save a couple hundred dollars a month on gas, but I don’t put all those miles on my car, or have to deal with rush hour traffic. It also saved us some money by not having to buy snow tires for my car this winter, and I don’t have to worry about driving in the snow and ice every day.
  2. Being able to drag myself out of bed at 6:45, grab a cup of coffee and start work at 7am.
  3. Wearing workout clothes all day – need I say more?
  4. Being able to stay in my pjs until noon on days I’m feeling extra lazy (this probably happens more often than I should admit).
  5. Getting to hang out with these two all day… they’re pretty awesome, and I don’t feel guilty for making them spend too much time in their crate:
  6. If I work out over my lunch break, I don’t have to make the choice between cutting the workout short to shower or offending people with my grossness.
  7. Getting to use my own bathroom during the day. I never thought about how much I hated using the work bathrooms until I started working from home.
  8. Having more healthy options available to me for my daytime meals – I hated packing a lunch, so this is healthier for me, AND saves more money because I’m not eating out or at the work cafeteria.
  9. I get off work at 4, so it’s easier to have a social life or work out after work.
  10. Since I’m at home, if I’m going out after work, it’s much easier to look nice and wear something cute, since I’m not stuck wearing the same thing I wore to work all day.
  11. I actually am more productive at home than I was in the office. I’m a pretty social person, so I wasted a lot of time chatting to co-workers or goofing around with them during the day when I could/should have been working.
  12. Being able to clean up around the house and do laundry during my lunch break, or right after work before Howdy gets home. I’m not saying I always do this, just that it’s an option now. 😉
  13. Being home when Howdy gets home.
  14. Having the option to sit at my computer in the dark, with an ice pack on my head if I have a migraine during the day, and/or take a nap on my lunch break to help get rid of a migraine (both of which I did today). In the office they usually frown on requests to turn off the lights, and I wouldn’t really want to explain the ice pack…
  15. Being able to work out after work, shower and still eat dinner before 8pm.
  16. Being able to write off my internet bill as a business expense.
  17. All the money I save on gas and food can go toward better things – like stamps in my passport, designer purses, cute scarves and workout clothes… you know, the important stuff. 🙂 (okay, I admit…most of it actually goes toward paying down the mortgage on our other house, but that’s not nearly as fun).

 

Hmm… that’s all I’ve got for the moment, but I think those are some pretty awesome perks of working from home. Obviously, there are a couple of less-than-perfect things about it too, but when it comes down to it, I’d still rather work from home than not. 🙂 Now to copy this list and put it up in my office so I can remind myself of all the good things whenever I get frustrated!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2011 9:11 am

    Yay! What a good list. How about saving some of that commute money to come to Orlando in October and run the Disney Wine and Dine with me and Kat? It’s your type of race – 10pm instead of 6am! I miss you…

  2. Lindsey Lare permalink
    January 6, 2011 11:42 am

    I’d say that pretty awesome, not having to go out in the cold and drive in that mess! Go Michelle!

  3. January 6, 2011 9:33 pm

    way to focus on the good when it’s so easy to get caught up in complaining. i love that you’re going to print the list and put it where you can see it 🙂

    at my old job, i had the option of working from home. i really struggled with staying focused on the task at hand. i would get distracted by the dishes or picking up stuff around the house… it was DANGER. i’m glad to being back teaching 🙂

  4. January 13, 2011 8:04 am

    Super jealous!! What do you do?….I need to find a bonafide “work from home” job!!

    • January 13, 2011 9:34 pm

      I work for the same company I worked for in Charleston doing Customer Support for a software company. I’ve been with the company 3 years and they let me start working remotely when we moved. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. It’s downright balmy around here « If Here Was There
  2. Attitude is everything « If Here Was There

Leave a Reply

