Skip to content

Wrapping things up for the holidays!

December 17, 2010

The last week has been crazy-busy. I managed to read one book last weekend toward my reading list goal. I’m not worried about it, because I have a good 24 hours of airport/plane time in my future this coming week, so I’ll have plenty of time to catch up. And if you are wondering what I was doing instead of reading… I went snowshoeing for the first time – and I LOVED it!! It was a great workout too!

Here are a couple of pictures that I took on the trails:

These pictures were taken around 3pm last Saturday, and the light really was that blue – the pictures above haven’t been modified or touched up in any way. This is straight out of the camera. 🙂

We had intentions of snowshoeing again on Sunday, but then a pregnant friend of mine unexpectedly had to go to the hospital, and ended up delivering her baby girl a month early – one day before she was considered “full term”. Mom and baby are doing well, the father unfortunately was in Oklahoma (same place as my husband) during this time, so he missed the birth. He was due to get back on Wednesday, so everyone was a little disappointed that he just missed it, but overall very thankful and happy that everyone is safe and healthy!!

Monday night we had a Christmas Ornament Exchange with the squadron wives. We played the game where you draw numbers, then open a gift and then the next person can “steal” it or open a new one. There were 23 of us, so the stealing/opening part became very entertaining.

Tuesday night I went to a Christmas coffee/Gift Exchange with the other squadron we are a part of here. We each brought a gift ($15 limit) and played the same game. The group was smaller, so the stealing wasn’t quite as involved. I ended up leaving with a cute white scarf with green polka dots. I love scarves and green is my favorite color! Technically I stole it from another person, but I was glad nobody stole it from me. 🙂

Tonight I am going to play Bunco, and then tomorrow night I leave for Dallas!! I can’t wait to get to spend a week in Dallas visiting my family and friends. Especially since the temperature here today is -7 (yes, that’s negative 7 degrees Farenheit)!! I am going to miss my dogs though. They are seriously like children to me and I worry about them and miss them when I leave. They are going to the kennel where they get to play with the other dogs, which they LOVE, so they’ll probably be happier there than cooped up in our house anyway…but I still get a little sad for some reason.

I’ve also had some interesting things going on at work, on top of trying to wrap everything up before I leave, and it has kept me from getting a good night’s sleep this week, which just adds to this week being crazy-busy and exhausting! I might go into more detail on that another time… but we’ll have to see. It’s still outstanding, and probably won’t have a resolution until the beginning of January. Don’t worry, it’s nothing bad, but it has been occupying a lot of my mental energy.

Anyway – I hope everyone else is having a good week and getting everything done in the final countdown to Christmas! I can’t believe Christmas Eve is one week from today!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    December 17, 2010 4:28 pm

    You’ll love the Dallas weather right now- AMAZING!

  2. December 18, 2010 10:04 am

    those pictures are beautiful! i especially love the one with the tree. it’s so asymmetrical and interesting. just lovely!

  3. kaceyleigh permalink
    December 18, 2010 7:48 pm

    beautiful pictures! really. they make me want to move to Alaska. don’t tell my hubby i said that. : ) enjoy your time in the Texas warmth. Merry Christmas!

  4. December 20, 2010 9:07 am

    I love to snowshoe! I wish we had some snow, it would make it actually feel like winter.

Leave a Reply

