Skip to content

Okay, now it’s war

December 2, 2010

Although I won the first battle, it appears the war is not over between me and the frozen metal mailbox…

Today I just happened to see the mailman driving away, so I threw on some shoes, a coat, a scarf and gloves to make the trek down there – it was a balmy 9 degrees at lunch time today! It’s a good thing I went down when I did because the lock on our little mailbox is actually broken (or more likely frozen open). So when I walked up, the door to our mailbox was hanging wide open for all the world to see. Yes, out of all 12 little mailboxes, only ours has this issue. *sigh* Normally this isn’t a huge deal because I’m not too worried about people stealing my junk mail (really, how many Pottery Barn catalogs does one family need anyway?!). However, this time there was yet another key to the 1P box inside.

That’s right, the 1P box… my winter nemesis. I tried again, in vain, to force that frozen metal door into revealing its contents. Since I now know the solution, but haven’t had time to make the trip to WalMart yet, I gave up faster than before. Plus, I was wasting precious minutes of my lunch break standing in front of the god-forsaken mailbox in 9 degree temps, and I was over it. I did bring the key back to the house with me though, even though the 1P box hates me, I don’t want any of my neighbors (or random people driving by) who were smart enough to buy lock de-icer to get to my packages before me! I probably won’t be able to make it out to Walmart until tomorrow, so it looks like the mailbox is the winner of Battle #2 in our little winter war.

But while we’re on the subject – I should show you the spoils from Battle #1:

The trees skirt finally came!

Nelson checked it out:

And he approves! 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2010 10:14 pm

    wow, this whole mailbox thing has really gotten out of control. time to call in reinforcements and get ‘er done!

    love the tree skirt! perfection!

    • December 3, 2010 4:19 pm

      I agree – the mailbox thing should not be this complicated. haha.

  2. December 2, 2010 10:19 pm

    HA! You will win the war!!

    Your tree skirt is gorgeous, and that picture of your dog in front of the tree is perfection!! LOVE IT!

    • December 3, 2010 4:19 pm

      Thanks! I tried to get both dogs to pose under the tree but the other one is scared of it, and despite multiple attempts to bribe him with leftover turkey, he wouldn’t cooperate!

  3. December 3, 2010 9:14 am

    Oh! I love that tree skirt. Target has a gorgeous white one with sparkles that I’ve wanted for 2 years, but I just refuse to pay as much as they want for it until I don’t live in a drunk house!

    • December 3, 2010 11:19 am

      I know what you mean… I wanted a white one for so long, but pretty white ones are kind of hard to find and I’ve put off buying one for 4 years because tree skirts in general are ridiculously priced.

Trackbacks

  1. Rad-berries topped with awesome sauce « If Here Was There

Leave a Reply

