Skip to content

Deck the Halls!

November 28, 2010

In past years when Howdy has been gone for the holidays I found it difficult to get into the holiday spirit. I barely decorated and just kind of thought, “what’s the point?”. Of course Christmas in Charleston didn’t really “feel” like Christmas anyway. This year my feelings are the exact opposite! I don’t know if it’s the blanket of snow covering everything or what, but I am very into Christmas this year! Before Howdy left he put lights on the house and put up the Christmas tree. By principle I held off on decorating the tree or the rest of house until after Thanksgiving, but as of Friday, it’s on!

This is also our first year with a mantel and I love it! I am still waiting on a tree skirt I ordered and have a couple of things left to decorate, but it’s coming along nicely! Since I want Howdy to see it decorated, it’s all going to stay up until January, so I figure I better love it. 🙂

I didn’t go out for the Black Friday sales this year. We got about 5 inches (maybe more) of snow on the night of Thanksgiving, and I wasn’t feeling up to navigating the roads and parking lots full of crazy deal-hunters in Howdy’s truck. I’ve been driving his truck while he’s gone because my car doesn’t have snow tires or 4-wheel drive. I did brave the crowds yesterday to hit up a couple of stores, but stayed away from the mall. I did some online shopping too. I prefer shopping online most of the time anyway, although I do have to be careful not to buy a bunch of things for myself while I’m at it. 😉

The best thing about all the snow we’ve gotten this weekend is that it covers up all the ice. Nelson and Jackson are super excited about it too, because it means they’re getting a walk today!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2010 10:22 pm

    yay for the christmas spirit. we have NO SNOW here in michigan yet, which is very strange and its starting to freak me out a little. but i pushed through and started my christmas shopping today. we decided to give “couple” gifts to everyone this year rather than trying to find something for each individual…makes my life so much easier! and it also means that i’m half way done with my shopping! yay!

  2. Allison Richardson permalink
    December 2, 2010 12:34 am

    I love your writing Michelle, and at least you got a funny story out of all of the frustration!!

  3. Allison Richardson permalink
    December 2, 2010 12:35 am

    …And that comment was for the mailbox story! 🙂

  4. January 21, 2013 3:11 am

    I have to say that like you were into Kina right from the start I was into the Barenaked Ladies right when they first started in 1992 in Canada My rammootes and friends and I loved them when i lived in the USA and I bought back a tape of theirs, when nobody here had heard of them

Leave a Reply

