Skip to content

Counting my blessings

November 25, 2010

Although it doesn’t feel much like Thanksgiving when I’m alone in my house (with the dogs :)) and working (for our Canadian clients)… I still have so much to be thankful for this year!

The biggest thing, is our move to Alaska! Alaska has been incredible for so many reasons, and has vastly exceeded my expecations – which were pretty high to begin with! With the move, Howdy has also been home so much more than he ever was in Charleston. Of course, he’s gone again right now… but in the 6 months since we moved here, he’s only been gone about 50 days total (not including the 3 more weeks until I see him again). That’s a HUGE improvement over Charleston, where he was gone for 255 days last year.

I’m thankful for old and new friends who keep me busy with phone dates, facebook comments/messages, and going out to movies, dinner, coffee, etc… while Howdy is gone. In fact, I’ve been so busy hanging out with friends that I haven’t even posted for 2 weeks!! Usually when Howdy is gone I end up blogging pretty much every day, but I’ve barely had time. I also received 3 different invitations for Thanksgiving dinner after I get off work today, and one of the guys in Howdy’s squadron insists every time he sees me that if I need anything to call him or his wife and they’ll run right over. He even made a point to have Howdy put me on the phone to tell me this before he left, and he came over to me during the squadron fundraising auction last weekend to ask why I hadn’t called them! And they are just one example of many – there are some seriously good people up here. I feel so blessed to be a part of this community.

I’m thankful for our beautiful home that keeps us warm, and the amazing view from our living room windows. I sit with a cup of coffee or tea and just look out the windows several times a day.

I’m thankful for my husband’s safety. When I consider the two plane crashes that have happened at the Air Force base since we moved here, the fact that I am not able to spend the holiday with my husband is trivial compared to the loss and absence those families are dealing with today.

I’m thankful for Nelson and Jackson. Those two little dogs keep me company, make me laugh, are always excited to see me, and shower me with unconditional love and affection. We couldn’t have brought two sweeter pets into our home, and I love them like children. 🙂

I think it goes without saying that I am so very thankful for Howdy and the life we’ve built together. He is truly my perfect match, and I love him more every day.

The list above is just a small sample of the many things I am thankful for. We have been unbelievably blessed, and I am constantly thankful for our amazing life.

I hope you all have a wonderful holiday and weekend – no matter where you are or who you’re with!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 25, 2010 6:47 pm

    what a wonderful list overflowing with thanks. so glad that you’ve found a network of friends in your new surroundings. that is what i always fear the most when moving to a different state. will i find friends? will i be lonely? but you have found a home there. my mom always told me that when she first set foot in alaska it felt more like home than anywhere else she’s ever lived.

Leave a Reply

