Skip to content

Snow in September!

September 27, 2010

Today we had the first snow of the season! There were some big flakes in the flurries that lasted most of the day, but it didn’t stick because it’s still a little too warm for that. It was very pretty to see it falling though – especially since most of the leaves are still on the trees and are a vibrant yellow.

Here are a few pictures I took when we were driving home from brunch:

It wasn’t snowing quite as much at our house, but because of the snow, you can barely see the outlines of the mountains above the trees… From our driveway:

Our backyard:

There’s a good chance we’ll get more snow in the next week, although it’s unlikely to stick since the temperatures will still be in the 30s and 40s during the day. I love to be inside a warm house and watch snow flakes fall out the window though,  so I’m thrilled! We do need to get some more supplies before the snow really hits (like studded tires), and these early flurries have given us a renewed sense of urgency. We are also losing the light faster than I expected. It’s something like 6 minutes every day. This past Friday we had just over 12 hours of daylight, by Thursday (9/30) we’ll be at 11 hours and 29 minutes of daylight. That’s over 30 minutes less in under a week!

Also, a quick update regarding my last post – Everything is lined up for our trip to Orlando in October! I was able to make the most legit option work for me, so I won’t even have to call in sick. 😉 The only thing I have left is to find a kennel for Nelson and Jackson, which should be taken care of by the end of this week. Now that the cold and darkness is getting closer I’m even more excited about our quick trip down to warm, sunny Orlando next month!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2010 8:03 am

    When are you going? Can you fly through CT on your way back….

  2. Jen B permalink
    September 27, 2010 2:34 pm

    YEA for snow! 30’s and 40’s?!?! I think it’s gotten a bit colder since I was there just a week ago! Have a HOT pumpkin spice latte for me…I tried having one here but just started sweating. It’s just not the same! 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Change of Plans « If Here Was There

Leave a Reply

