Skip to content

Not something you see everyday

August 31, 2010
tags: ,

The last time I posted I left you hanging with a teaser about what I did last week… and then disappeared for a few days… You know how it goes – life gets in the way, and sometimes the camera doens’t cooperate with uploading the pictures.

Last Thursday I had the opportunity to take a flight on a KC-135 while it was refueling a formation of C-17s. We flew out over Denali National Park, and I was able to spend the majority of the time laying on my stomach in the boom pod looking out the windows at the amazing scenery. I took about 130 pictures, so it was tough to narrow them down, but it was truly an amazing experience! Here is a small sample of the pictures I was able to take – no zoom required!

See the C-17?

The C-17 is REALLY big in that little window!

Can you spot the C-17 again? πŸ˜‰

Mt McKinley (Denali) out the cockpit window:

…and again, a little closer:

We literally flew right over the top of Mt. McKinley (Denali). We were about 2500 feet away from the peaks, but it seemed like it was SO much closer! The views throughout the entire flight were just breathtaking, and being about 20 feet away from C-17s refeuling at 20,000 feet, traveling over 250 mph was definitely not something I get to see everyday! If you ever get the chance, I HIGHLY recommend doing it!! (And have I mentioned that I am completely in love with Alaska?!…. because I am) πŸ˜€

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2010 9:00 pm

    breathtaking! seriously i can’t imagine what seeing those site in person would be like. the pictures are amazing enough…but to be there, wow! and its so awesome to be so into the place where you live πŸ™‚

  2. Jen B. permalink
    September 1, 2010 12:29 am

    WOW! That is incredible!! I’m so glad you got that opportunity…and the great pictures. And I’m so happy for you loving your new home! πŸ˜‰ What a beautiful place!!

  3. Jill N permalink
    September 1, 2010 5:55 am

    Lucky! Beautiful pictures, glad you are happy πŸ™‚ Miss you guys down south!

  4. Michelle T. permalink
    September 1, 2010 1:21 pm

    HOLY COW! That’s incredible…what amazing pix! And what a cool opportunity. Hope you’re doing well and get to see that moose :o)

  5. Stephanie permalink
    September 1, 2010 8:26 pm

    Amazing! What a great opportunity!

  6. Becca Hagerla permalink
    September 1, 2010 8:29 pm

    Wow! That looks awesome! Thanks for sharing the pictures. The view of Altus, OK from the air would not even come close to competing with that. πŸ™‚ haha!

  7. September 2, 2010 11:00 pm

    Wow. Absolutely incredible.

  8. September 4, 2010 9:45 pm

    Those pictures are amazing, but I have a bit of a fear of flying so while I can admire those pictures here safely on the ground I know I would be having a panic attack if I was the one in the air.

    Also, I tagged you in an 8 questions over on my blog if you want to play along!

  9. September 30, 2010 8:12 am

    amazing!

Leave a Reply

