Skip to content

Busy week after all

July 23, 2010

So, apparently I just needed to complain to the blog universe about my lack of things to do, because almost immediately after I wrote that post my calendar began to fill up! Tuesday night we went out to dinner with Mike and Mary and another friend of ours who went to pilot training with Howdy and Mike. We hit up the standard pizza/beer location, Moose’s Tooth. Moose’s Tooth is always packed, but it seemed to take even longer than normal to get our food. Luckily, my Honey Ginger salad (LOVE!!) came out early and the company was so great that we barely noticed the time.

During dinner we made plans for camping and fishing this weekend. Technically, the boys left today (Thursday) to head down the Kenai to fish for salmon. They are taking a halibut charter out of Seward all day tomorrow, and Mary and I are heading down there tomorrow night with her 2 kids and our 2 dogs. We’ll camp somewhere the guys have picked out down there, and fish for trout in the lake on Saturday. The plan for Saturday may deviate, but that was the last variation I heard. 🙂

So yesterday Howdy and I made a trip down to REI to buy a new tent. I’ve been bugging him to get one we can hike with, but they’re not cheap so he’s been putting it off. I had a 25% off coupon, so yesterday was the day! I can’t wait to try it out this weekend (because the 5 minutes that he had it put up in our living room doesn’t count)!!


Another fun thing that happened – I FINALLY got a call from the spouse group today – and not just one! TWO different people called me. They apologized profusely that I kind of slipped through the cracks in June while Howdy was gone. They also informed me that there was a Bunco night tonight, and invited me to come along. One of the girls offered to pick me up so we could ride together AND brought over a fishing pole she offered to let me borrow for this weekend! 🙂 For those of you who don’t know, I coordinated a Bunco group back in Charleston, so I was excited to get to play again. Their rules for playing are slightly different, but nothing too drastic. I had a great time, and felt like I clicked well with the women there. I also won the prize for the Most Losses, which interestingly enough is the same prize I won the very first time I ever played Bunco – 2 months after I got to Charleston! Kind of funny to me. 🙂

One other extremely random piece of info – the house where we played Bunco tonight is about 15 min. north of where I live. They don’t really live in a “neighborhood” per se, it’s more just off of a road and surrounded by trees. Apparently they have had a black bear on their wrap-around porch 3 times in the last month or so!! It was trying to get into their bird feeders, and standing on its hind legs it was over 6 feet tall. This was right outside their window! Can you imagine?! We definitely looked more closely between the trees when we were getting in the car to go home!

Well, I’m off to bed. It’s been a hellacious week at work, and I need my rest to make it through tomorrow and still have energy for this weekend! Anybody else doing anything fun?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2010 6:52 pm

    Sounds like you are fitting in so nicely in your new home and things are finally getting settled. So happy for you!

  2. Jen B. permalink
    July 23, 2010 7:20 pm

    YEA for your upcoming camping adventure! Sounds like it will be a great time. We actually just had the Pinkertons in town for a week…we all had a blast. This weekend, Blaine and I are trying out our new scuba gear before we take our Advanced Open-Water course in a couple of weekends. We’ll have to swap wildlife-sighting stories after the weekend is over! 🙂

  3. Michelle T. permalink
    July 26, 2010 9:19 am

    Yay for bunco nights again!

  4. July 26, 2010 12:48 pm

    Fun!! Glad to hear you’re adapting well out there!

Leave a Reply

