Skip to content

For the Birds

July 2, 2010

There is a bird that wants to get into my house. For the last 2 days, he’s been flying at various windows – upstairs and downstairs. He doesn’t fly into them like he doesn’t see them though. He flies up to the window, flaps his wings and stays there for a few seconds while lightly bumping his beak on the glass. During the day he likes to go back and forth between the back door (which is glass), and the window of the office where I’m working. I’m convinced he’s teasing all of us, because the dogs go crazy, and I keep trying to take a picture of him, but he flies off right as I get the camera ready –  Every. Single. Time.

The boys have tried begging me to do something about the bird…

I tell them there’s nothing I can do about it, but Nelson doesn’t agree. He feels he can take matters into his own hands paws:“Mooooooom…. there’s a bird outside and I WANT TO CHASE HIM!!!!!”

I’m wondering how long this bird will stick around, and what is so fascinating about my windows… he comes by about every 30 minutes. I’m glad it’s Friday though. Hopefully he’ll be gone by Tuesday when I’m back in my office.

Another reason I’m glad it’s Friday – Howdy is coming home today!!! I’m going to pick him up at the airport as soon as I get off work! He has been gone for a little over a month, and I can’t wait to see him. He had to leave 2 weeks after we moved here, so he hasn’t gotten to experience much of Alaska yet, and there is a bunch of exploring that I’ve been waiting to do with him. Plus, the month seems a lot longer when I only know 2 people and I’m in the house all day during the week.

And I’m not the only one that’s been missing him……Howdy is his person.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2010 1:11 pm

    yay! i am so glad you put the picture of nelson “yelling” on your blog. love love love it!

  2. July 2, 2010 6:07 pm

    I am obsessed with your dogs, I can’t get enough of their begging pose! Glad your husband is making it home for the holidays!

  3. July 6, 2010 11:12 am

    awww I love jack russels! so cute!

Leave a Reply

