Skip to content

Friends and Speeding Tickets

June 24, 2010

The title about sums up my night last night! Friends of ours from Charleston were in Alaska for a wedding this past weekend and we were able to get together last night to catch up over dinner. They hadn’t been to Moose’s Tooth yet, so I had to take them there. Well, technically I met them there, since we were coming from opposite directions. πŸ™‚ They got there early and grabbed a table, and I was running just a little bit behind… but not too much. I definitely wasn’t intentionally rushing.

I was about halfway there, when I looked down and saw that I was going 81mph… in a 65. My first thought was “oh crap, I need to slow down. I had no idea I was going so fast”, and I immediately hit the brakes. Apparently, a cop was behind me, because about 5 miles later the unmarked car behind me turned on his lights and pulled me over. It was annoying that he was literally right on my bumper for that long before he actually turned on his lights, and the entire time I was going the speed limit! I had been driving the speed limit for so long that I was actually confused about whether or not I was the one being pulled over when he turned on the lights! Oh well. I got a speeding ticket – my first one in 3 years.

Little known fact about me: I’ve been pulled over around 20 times in the last 12 years for speeding (the majority of that was in the first 5 years I had my license). If I’m remembering correctly, I’ve had 8 speeding tickets in various states (Texas, New Mexico, S. Carolina, and now Alaska). I’ve also taken a defensive driving course 5 times (in Texas you can take it every 3 years to lower your insurance, and/or once in every 12 month period to dismiss a ticket).

Anyway… the ticket was really the only damper on the night. The food was delicious and the company was great! We left the restaurant around 9:45 and came back to my house. I showed them my embarrassingly messy house, and they graciously pretended to ignore the boxes, clutter, piles of clothes waiting to be put away, and shredded plush toy (courtesy of the boys). πŸ™‚

It was great to see them, although I’m a little jealous of all the fun and amazing experiences they’ve had since they’ve been here! I feel like I need to take some time off work to explore, but alas, I’ve used all my vacation time. 😦 Guess I’ll just have to cram as many fun activities into the weekends as I possibly can!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen B. permalink
    June 24, 2010 2:45 am

    Mmmm…I remember the Moose’s Tooth. Yummy pizza and even yummier beer! Glad you had a good time with friends…sorry about the speeding ticket, though. I felt the same way when showing Blaine’s family around here; we have got to get out and experience these awesome places we live in! πŸ™‚

    • June 24, 2010 3:01 pm

      Matt declared the Moose’s Tooth beer his new favorite beer. πŸ™‚

  2. June 24, 2010 9:21 am

    Ugh. I hate tickets, speeding or otherwise…I always feel guilty and angry all at once. Horrible. Glad you had fun things to help balance it out!

  3. Stephanie permalink
    June 26, 2010 6:52 pm

    You are quite the little speed demon with that track record πŸ˜‰

  4. Lindsey Lare permalink
    July 14, 2010 9:14 am

    So sorry about your speeding ticket, still feel horrible about that! But we had a lot of fun! I have been catching up on following all my blogs, and I need to update my own. But that is why you are getting this response so late!

Leave a Reply

