Skip to content

Another weekend, Another race

June 13, 2010

I got up yesterday at 6:30am to get ready and meet Mary, and all the women in Mike’s family (as well as a couple of their friends), for the 2010 Alaska Run for Women. It’s a women-only race benefiting breast cancer research. The race was in downtown Anchorage, and covered some of the same ground as last weekend’s 12k. I don’t know what it is, but for some reason 6:30am seems SO much earlier on Saturday than it does during the week. I was also worried the blisters on my feet wouldn’t be healed enough to handle 5 miles, even though I had stayed off of them all week. I was really out of sorts in the morning. I almost forgot my shuffle, and I DID forget the CLIF bar I had planned to take with me for before the race.

We parked near the start around 8am, and met up with everyone else in our group. There were over 6000 women participating in the race this year, which was a record number for them. They had a 1-mile option and a 5-mile timed or untimed. The race planned to start the 1-mile run/walk at 9am, and the 5-mile run/walk at 9:10. They didn’t end up starting the 1-mile until 9:10, and the 5-mile didn’t start until 9:30. It annoys me when races don’t start on time… although at least the weather was absolutely beautiful, so it wasn’t too bad standing around waiting.

They also had a port-a-potty decorating contest! Entrants decorated the outside and the inside of the port-a-potties! I would NOT want the job of decorating the inside, even if it had been cleaned and sterilized before the actual decorating took place. There were some pretty interesting ones. I actually used one that was decorated to look like an old-fashioned outhouse. It was completely wrapped with plastic paper that looked like wood – inside and out. The inside even had a fake window with a bear picture behind it, and cardboard, hand-written signs that said cheesy things like “the only room of the house where I know what I’m doing” and “if you sprinkle when you tinkle, be a sweetie and wipe the seatie”. I’m not sure which port-a-potty won, but from what I saw the outhouse one was the best decorated.

Here’s the map and elevation info from the race:

As you can see, this was not nearly as hilly as the 12k, which was MUCH better for me! Unfortunately, my blisters started to hurt badly about halfway through the race, forcing me to do the run/walk thing. I’m not a big fan of run/walk-ing. I find it hard to get motivated to run again after I’ve started walking. Usually I just try to keep running, even if it means I’m running super slowly. But this time, my feet had other plans, so I did what I had to do to finish. All-in-all it wasn’t terrible, and I finished in just over an hour. The weather was absolutely gorgeous and perfect for the race – and I even got to see a guy walking a REINDEER ON A LEASH when we passed Delaney Park at Mile 1!! Only in Alaska… 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle T. permalink
    June 14, 2010 8:43 pm

    good job!! what a cool race and I esp loved the reindeer on a leash, only in AK!!

Trackbacks

  1. Picking up where I left off « If Here Was There

Leave a Reply

