Skip to content

Still here!

June 10, 2010

Hi there! I realize I’ve been MIA since the race last weekend, but I was kind of having a rough week. Howdy and I were not on the same page about a few things, and we had to take a few days to work it all out. But it’s better now, so no worries, and I’m back to regularly scheduled blogging! (…or something like that) 🙂

Speaking of the race last weekend- I agreed to run a 5-miler this Saturday. Clearly, I have masochistic tendencies. 😉 The middle of the race course goes down along the Coastal Trail, just like last week’s race, so it should be a pretty run. I am very worried that I’m going to aggravate the blood blisters on my heels though.  They aren’t really “blisters” so much as “ugly, dark spots” now.  I’m kind of running out of ideas for what to do about them, and it’s getting really frustrating!
So far I have tried:

  • New socks (special, wicking running socks)
  • New shoes (after a gait analysis at a running store in Charleston)
  • Different brands of shoes (Adidas, Nike, Asics)
  • Blister band-aids
  • Regular band-aids
  • Vaseline
  • Body Glide

Anybody have any other ideas to prevent/protect blisters while running?! Nothing is helping so far, and I’m totally open to something different!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill N permalink
    June 11, 2010 7:39 am

    glad you two got everything worked out. Feel free to give me a call if you want to talk! Have fun running again (crazy lady)! I have no idea what to do about the blisters, other than let them heal 🙂 (which means no running)!

  2. June 11, 2010 8:44 am

    I think there’s a product called second skin that is designed for blisters. You might want to give that a check. 🙂

  3. June 11, 2010 12:43 pm

    I have problems with blisters too! You already have it on your list, but my brother (who is a big runner) said the best thing you can do is by those running socks with extra padding in places that are very blister prone.

    Good luck on your race this weekend!

  4. June 11, 2010 1:58 pm

    Bandaid makes this awesome product which usually works for me. I am in love with it – and use it sometimes for cute shoes that I want to break in that have nothing to do with running 🙂

    https://www.bandaid.com/couponBlisterBlock.jsp

    It works really well, unless of course it pours rain on you during your run, resulting in soaking wet feet, socks, and shoes like in my race last weekend.

    Good luck this weekend!

    • June 11, 2010 2:52 pm

      I’ve tried the Bandaid Advanced Healing Blister Cushions (longest name ever), and they helped, but never stayed in place. I’ll have to check out the Blister Block, thanks for the recommendation!

  5. Randi permalink
    June 12, 2010 2:05 pm

    I agree with the blister blockers! Have you tried drymax socks? Alot of ultra marathoners use them and swear by them, no blisters. Also, are you shoes too small? They say you should always go half a size up in running shoes. Sorry you’re having such blisters issues!

    My husband ran the Twilight 12K too! I usually run it except I’m pregnant now and I can’t go very far anymore. You’re running the Alaska run for Women today? I’m running the Mayors Midnight Sun 5 miler next weekend. Well attempting to run, I’m super slow now with my belly. Are you doing that one? Good luck!

    • June 12, 2010 4:10 pm

      Yes, I ran the Alaska Run for Women today. I’m still debating on the race next weekend. If I do it, it will just be the 5-miler – I’m definitely not in half-marathon shape right now! It depends on how these blisters are healing though…

Leave a Reply

