Skip to content

Memorial Day hike

June 1, 2010

Yesterday my friend Mary and I went for a hike not too far from my house. I was going to go by myself with the dogs, but the whole bear thing makes me nervous, so I was very glad that it worked out that she could go with me! We brought her 2 kids (5 and 2), and Nelson and Jackson (of course). Since we wanted to avoid bears, especially because the particular trail we chose is mostly closed in August and September due to bear activity, we decided to go at 1:00pm. I don’t know if it was the bear bell, or the time of day, or something else entirely, but the only wildlife we encountered was one rather outgoing squirrel. 🙂

I know it’s random, but I am more nervous about running into wildlife when I have the dogs with me than I am by myself. I guess it’s because I worry they won’t understand the danger if we do run into an animal, and that they might provoke it, and then I’ll have to protect all of us from an angry animal!

But anyway – it was a great little hike! The trail was a loop about 3.5 miles (ish), and the weather was absolutely perfect for being outside – 75 and sunny! It is so beautiful here, I can’t imagine ever getting tired of seeing the mountains:

(you knew there’d be at least one picture of the dogs, right?) 😉

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Megan permalink
    June 1, 2010 8:32 pm

    So beautiful! I miss Alaska so much! 😦

  2. June 2, 2010 5:57 pm

    So gorgeous! You are so lucky to live in such a stunning place!

  3. June 3, 2010 7:40 am

    Over here from Booshy’s! 😀 Those pictures are gorgeous! Some day I want to live in a place like that!

  4. Kacey permalink
    June 26, 2010 9:15 am

    Wow! So I’m behind on blog-stalking… But these pictures are amazing! They don’t even look real they’re so fabulous.

Leave a Reply

