Skip to content

Book Review: Catching Fire

May 28, 2010

Tonight I finished Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. Catching Fire is the second book in The Hunger Games Trilogy (I reviewed the first book earlier this week). I’m not going to go into too much detail in this review because I don’t want to give anything away to the people who are planning to read this series. I will say that Catching Fire was very surprising. The plot had a lot of twists that I never saw coming! That doesn’t happen very often, so when it does it automatically makes me like the book a little more than I would have otherwise. I did find Katniss a little annoying at certain points of the book, but nothing that stuck out for long or was too overwhelming (not like Bella in New Moon – ugh!). I thought that Collins did a good job of making you think you know what’s coming, or have a general idea, but then you’re totally taken off-guard by a major twist. She achieves this by writing from the first person point of view of Katniss. While privy to Katniss’s thoughts we are also free to evaluate the actions and analyze the motives of the other characters, but there is almost always something beyond what is obvious that ends up surprising Katniss (and the reader). This book drew me into the series even more than the first book, and I am looking forward to the release of the final book in the trilogy in August. I gave Catching Fire 4 stars on goodreads as well.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Becca Hagerla permalink
    May 28, 2010 7:11 pm

    I am impressed by how much you read. I need a little of your reading motivation. I wish I loved to read. I need to make that a goal of mine. I hope everything is going well in Alaska! I enjoy keeping up with you on your blog! Tell Howdy hi from Kelby and I!

    • May 28, 2010 7:39 pm

      Hi Becca! Everything is great up here so far and Howdy says hi back! 🙂

Leave a Reply

