Skip to content

My First Alaskan Run

May 20, 2010

Last night Howdy and I went for a run – our first run in Alaska. It was also my first run since before we left for the Dominican – on April 16th – so it had been over a month!! I definitely needed the run, and it kicked my butt. I only ran 2.33 miles, but it was probably the hardest 2 miles of my life! We live halfway up a small mountain, and the descent, and subsequent climb back up are brutal. The hill going up to our house is STEEP. I’ll have to take a picture of it at some point to show you guys, although it curves, so I’m not sure I’d get a good shot of just how steep it is. It was definitely a huge shock to my running system after Charleston, which is completely flat and about 3ft below sea level.

From our front door, we followed the road to the right, which took us higher up the mountain for a little ways before curving around and starting the curvy, switchback down to the bottom. At the bottom there’s probably a quarter or half-mile of flat running, before it goes back up the STEEP hill to return to our house. We had a strong headwind on the flat part, which figures… 😉 I’ll be honest, halfway back up the steep hill to the house I had to stop and walk. I ran again at the end (which was the last part of the hill), but I had to walk for about a minute or two in the middle. Howdy did too though, so that made me feel better. We ran together the first quarter mile, and then he took off and left me behind. I told him he could go ahead, but if I got attacked by a bear, wolf, or moose I would blame him. 🙂

All-in-all it took me about 29 minutes to run 2.33 miles, which is ridiculously slow… but considering all of the factors, I’m okay with it. It just gives us something to work towards! I’m going to conquer this mountain eventually… I’ll keep you posted on our progress. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2010 7:14 am

    Sounds like you’re going to be doing hill workouts whether you want to or not! Hope this doesn’t keep you from running…somedays I’ll look for any excuse I can, and living on a mountain might be all the excuse I would need…

  2. Jill N permalink
    May 20, 2010 10:18 am

    good job! Good thing I stick to the dreadmill!! No HILLS or Mountains in my way! Maybe you should get a helmet cam and we can run with you 🙂

Leave a Reply

