Skip to content

Driving to Alaska in Pictures, part 3

May 17, 2010

Same disclaimer as last time – almost all of these were taking from a moving vehicle, but hopefully you enjoy the view anyway. 🙂

British Columbia:

I don’t remember the name of this “town”, but the buildings you see on the left is the entire settlement. The straight dirt path just across from the buildings on the right side of the highway is a TINY airstrip:

I also encountered my first “northern” mosquito… The good news is they are very slow and easy to see, so it was easy enough to kill it before I was bitten, but the bad news is they are HUGE. This is in Scott (my step-dad)’s hand, which is about twice the size of my hand:

Do you guys want to see any more? I took nearly 400 pictures… obviously I’m not going to force all of them on you… but I haven’t even gotten to the Yukon yet, and I’m not sure if you’re sick of driving pictures. If you’d like to see some more, let me know and I’ll keep posting them!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2010 6:53 pm

    Great photos! I am glad you remembered to bring a camera. I always forget to take pictures while on roadtrips.

  2. Jill N permalink
    May 18, 2010 1:40 pm

    more more more! I want to see them all!!!
    Miss you guys.

  3. January 23, 2013 6:06 am

    Hi there,I came across your blog as I was doing some rsareech about teaching in Alaska. I am seriously contemplating this as my next adventure when I return to the United States. Right now I am teaching overseas in the United Arab Emirates. I have a husband and 2 year old daughter and so that makes going different places a bit more challenging. However, my husband and I had talked about Alaska quite some time ago and it would be a dream come true for us to raise our little one (maybe another) there in Alaska. We long to experience more outdoor adventures. My husband was raised in CO and loves hunting and fishing. I was wondering if you wouldn’t mind telling me a little bit about getting certified to teach in Alaska and how to find an abundance of teaching jobs up there. I ideally would like to find employment before I arrive back in the US and I know that might be very challenging. I would love a bit more information! Happy Holidays and thank you for your blog! Sincerely, E. Stephanie Woodward

Leave a Reply

