Skip to content

A quick update on the state of things

April 15, 2010

Seriously, a quick update… things are crazy right now! I’m even going to bullet the list to keep myself from getting too verbose, since I have SO MUCH TO DO!! ahhhhh…. Okay, really – here goes:

  • I am now working from home. I spent most of Monday afternoon crying in frustration (long story, too long for this bullet). Yesterday was GREAT!! If everyday can be like yesterday, then working from home is going to be exactly what I thought it would be!
  • All 20 boxes of our books are packed (and about 12 books each, that we set aside for reading between now and when we unpack in AK). All of the pictures are off the walls and wrapped in several layers of bubble wrap. Ditto all of my vases and other breakable items.
  • WE HAVE RENTERS!! (more details to come)
  • We bought a truck and said goodbye to my Prius (more details to come on this too).
  • Last night we had a nice, long dinner with friends. I’m going to miss our sushi dates. And Howdy and I think we should be the official Alaska recruiters, because we spend so much time telling everyone why it’s not as bad as they seem to think. πŸ™‚
  • I realized I’m not going to make my goal of running 200 miles before we leave for Alaska. Mainly because last month during the Bridge Run, I somehow managed to get a blood blister on the inside of my heel on my right foot. I have been getting regular blisters in the same spot for almost 8 months now, but never a blood blister. I went for a 3.5 mile run on Wednesday and even though it was several weeks later, I got ANOTHER blood blister adjacent to the first one (that still hasn’t completely gone away). So I’m not sure what to do about that…but I’m thinking I need to hold off on running for a bit. 😦
  • We leave for the DR early tomorrow morning, and I haven’t packed, or even made my list, yet. And if you know me, I need my list.

So…with that little teaser – although I guess it’s only a teaser if you’re actually interested in what comes next πŸ˜‰ – I’m “off to work”… in our study…in my workout clothes! Hopefully I’ll have time to go into more detail tonight. If not, it’ll probably have to wait another week until we get back from the DR.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 8:52 am

    Sounds like you guys are making a lot of progress! Good work. Hope that there continues to be more good days of working at home as opposed to the crying days. Yay for Alaska recruiting!

  2. April 15, 2010 12:11 pm

    Wow! So glad you found renters and even more excited for your pending trip to the DR. I hope that foot starts feeling better, nothing is worse then a blister making it painful to run.

  3. Jill permalink
    April 15, 2010 12:43 pm

    Oh how I will miss our Sushi nights too. It was a great time with all of us, and my kids behaved for the most part πŸ˜‰
    All I have on my mind is moose and snow! We will have to wait and see what happens in the months to come.
    Have a blast in the DR and take loads of pictures so that you can post on here and we can compare your tan to what you will look like in January!!!

  4. Stephanie permalink
    April 15, 2010 12:59 pm

    Have so much fun!! Can’t wait to hear the “rest of the story” as well as all the details of your trip! Travel safe.

Leave a Reply

