Skip to content

Let’s see how far we’ve come…

December 31, 2009

Well, I’m jumping on the bandwagon and writing a post about the things that have happened in my life in the last year. I’m mainly doing this because I don’t think I even remember a lot of things – so this will more or less be an exercise in reminding myself.

January:

  • Started the New Year with friends, and without Howdy, as he was deployed
  • Traveled to Connecticut to visit J, and spent some time in NYC

February:

  • Spent a few days in Dallas before flying to Lubbock for Dan and Steph’s wedding (they met at my wedding)
  • Had a rowdy Valentine’s Day with the girls – lots of wine, dessert, drinks and dancing
  • Had a few more rowdy nights of dancing downtown with the ladies
  • Ran my first 8k race

March:

  • Discovered a rat in my grill on a very rainy night
  • Had a rowdy night out with the girls celebrating the halfway mark of the deployment
  • Reached my goal of running 100 miles before May
  • Ran 2 5k races and 1 10k race, 3 weekends in a row – 3/7 (5k), 3/14 (10k), 3/21 (5k)

April:

  • Ran the Cooper River Bridge Run (10k) on 4/4
  • Decided to sign up for a Half-Marathon

May:

  • Howdy returned from his deployment!!
  • We traveled to the Bahamas for a week with 2 other couples
  • Traveled to Dallas for my little sister’s high school graduation

June:

  • Our 3 year wedding anniversary (which I celebrated alone because Howdy was in Oklahoma)
  • Ran a 5k
  • Reached my goal of running 200 miles

July:

  • Really hard month at work – started thinking about quitting my job

August:

  • Traveled to Chicago for a girl’s weekend with V and J
  • Traveled to Vegas to visit Tim and Amy, and ran my first half-marathon with Amy
  • Traveled back to Chicago for a week for work, and stayed with V again
  • Flew to Hawaii for a week-long vacation with Howdy

September:

  • Turned 27, while in Hawaii at a friend’s wedding
  • Discovered Zumba, which I love!

October:

  • Ran the Race for the Cure (5k) and celebrated my 1 year running anniversary
  • Was given a second position I applied for at work
  • Found out we’re moving to ALASKA in May 2010
  • Traveled to Dallas for Ricky and Casey’s wedding

November:

  • Starting supporting the second product at work
  • We traveled to Michigan to visit my mom and her family for Thanksgiving

December:

  • Howdy and I ran the Reindeer Run (5k) in the pouring rain
  • Celebrated Christmas with friends, while Howdy was overseas on a trip
  • About to head over to another friend’s house to celebrate New Year’s with friends, as Howdy is still out of the country

And we’ve come full circle… Thanks for caring enough (or being bored enough) to have read this far. Howdy was only home 115 days in 2009, and I’m not sorry to see this year go. I did take a lot of trips that were ridiculously fun and kept me busy, but I also became more and more fed up with my job… somehow I’m still there, but probably not for much longer (I know, I’ve been saying that since July).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2010 11:02 pm

    Looks like it was an eventful year with lots of running! You will have to give me half marathon training tips as that is one of my New Years goals…

  2. January 3, 2010 8:10 pm

    I’d say August was definitely your highlight – two trips to Chicago, Hawaii and Vegas.

  3. January 3, 2010 8:12 pm

    And I sooooo want to come to Alaska in 2010. Let’s make that happen 🙂

Leave a Reply

