Skip to content

Belated recap of the holiday that vaguely resembled Christmas

December 28, 2009

The last 3 Christmases that we have been in Charleston were just kind of “blah” for me. I had a hard time getting into the Christmas spirit, due to the fact that it was between 60-70 degrees on Christmas and my family was far away. Thanks to our work schedules Howdy and I were never able to get vacation time to go home and spend the holidays with family. Last year, Howdy deployed 2 days after Christmas so we took an early “Christmas” trip to Washington D.C. the second week of December, and when we got home we didn’t even bother putting up a tree since it would only be up for about a week, and then I would end up taking it all down and putting it away by myself. It’s never fun getting ready for a deployment, and when it is happening right between Christmas and New Years, it definitely makes it hard to get into the holidays.

But my mood totally changed this year! I’m normally one of those people who rolls their eyes when the Christmas music starts playing on the radio the day after Thanksgiving, but this year I embraced it. I listened to Christmas music every day on my way to and from work. I got all of my Christmas shopping done early (not that I shipped any of it out on time, but I’ll keep working on that for next year), we put our tree up at the beginning of December, and I watched my favorite Christmas movies several times in the weeks leading up to Christmas. I think there was something about knowing this would be our last Christmas in Charleston that kind of made me appreciate it more.

And then the other shoe dropped… On Monday, December 21st, Howdy informed me that he was being put on a trip. He left at 7am on December 24th (yep, Christmas Eve), and he’s still gone. I don’t expect him home until after the New Year. We’ve only had 1 Christmas at home together since we’ve been here (and he hasn’t been here for a single New Year’s Eve), so it’s not like it’s a new thing that he’s not here, but I was seriously disappointed this year. Knowing that my Christmas spirit was so high this year, and then to find out that he was leaving too late to make plans to spend the holiday with family was pretty depressing.

Luckily, I had several friends who invited me over for Christmas dinner, so I didn’t spend Christmas totally alone (just wanted to throw that out there now before you started feeling sorry for me πŸ˜‰ ). I spent Christmas Eve baking biscotti and candied almonds until I was exhausted, and then passed out on the couch watching the White Christmas marathon. Christmas morning I had planned to go for a run, but it was very cold and pouring rain, so I cuddled with the puppies on the couch and watched Christmas Vacation instead. I went over to Faith and JC’s house for Christmas dinner around 5:30. Faith did a wonderful job – the food was delicious, and I stuffed myself with everything except the turkey. I took 2 bottles of wine with me, and between the 8 of us, we polished off about 6 bottles of wine (the guys were drinking beer and mixed drinks most of the night too). I had a really great time and can’t remember the last time I laughed until I cried, which happened a couple of different times that night. I got home around 2am, and really wished Howdy could have been there, as I know he would have enjoyed it just as much as I did.

Saturday I hit up a few stores for after-Christmas sales with Taryn, but really the only good one I ran across was the 50% off denim sale at Teal (Joe’s Jeans 50% off – Yes, Please!). After that I came home, baked some more biscotti, and pretty much lounged around reading/watching movies by myself for the rest of the weekend. It was back to work today, and I’m over it (no surprise there).

So that was my Christmas. I still have my tree up with our presents wrapped beneath it. We decided to wait until after Howdy gets home to open our gifts. 2009 has been a tough year, and I’m not sad to see it go (more on that later), but since it looks like our “Christmas” will be in January, that just means that we’ll get 2 Christmases in 2010! So see, we already know 2010 is going to beat the crap out of Β 2009. πŸ™‚ I hope that you all had a wonderful Christmas and were able to spend it with your families, and for those of you who were stuck in the same situation as me – congratulations on getting through another complication/change of plans, and I hope your family member gets home soon!

And finally:

These 2 wish you a very merry Christmas and a Happy New Year:
Merry Christmas 2009

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2009 12:56 am

    BOOOOOO on the boy having to go out of town! Yay for you having some super cute puppies to keep you company. Seriously, they are adorable.

    • December 30, 2009 12:25 pm

      Thanks Melissa, they’re the best! I don’t know what I would do without them πŸ™‚

      • August 31, 2013 8:30 am

        Whew. I thought it was just me. This is srntagly comforting, when you consider my iPod crapped out again (as it likes doing this Monday mornings, I’m beginning to consider it a sadistic bitch) and I slipped in the tub last night. Not the best start to the week.Looking forward to this sucker finally downloading all proper like, and welcome to the West Coast Jon! (I’m in the Seattle.)

  2. February 4, 2012 4:47 pm

    Does aoynne know what kind of camera that is used for these videos? The videos look awesome!! p.s. Thanks so much!!

Leave a Reply

