Skip to content

Thanksgiving Traditions

November 24, 2009

This will be the second Thanksgiving Howdy and I have spent together since being married (that’s 2 out of 4 now – woohoo!). I love the idea of the Thanksgiving holiday- taking the time to remember and acknowledge all of the things we are thankful for, but Thanksgiving has been my least favorite holiday for as long as I can remember. 90% of it is due to the food. I have never liked turkey, even before I stopped eating other types of meat. I don’t like stuffing, gravy, green bean casserole, or creamed corn (although I love regular green beans and corn). I also hate pumpkin pie (I’m not really a fan of pie in general) – I know, it’s shocking, right? I do love potatoes and bread, and I don’t mind cranberries… but it’s hard to make a meal out of that.

So, Howdy and I began our own Thanksgiving Tradition last year. We went to a seafood store in our area that gets fresh seafood every day and bought 3lbs of HUGE King Crab legs. We replaced the turkey with crab legs, which we ate with crescent rolls, potatoes, corn and green beans. We were so full, and it was the best Thanksgiving I’ve ever had. No guilt trips or half-joking ribbing from family members for my food choices… just a wonderful, delicious meal with my husband. I was so thankful that he was willing to make that change in tradition, since he has always been a big “turkey-gravy-stuffing-pie” kind of guy.

This year we will be spending the Thanksgiving holiday in Michigan with my mom’s family. We leave tomorrow afternoon, so we won’t be home to actually have our “new tradition”, but we celebrated tonight instead. Howdy flew to Nantucket and back today, so he picked up some live lobsters and brought them home for dinner. He made an amazing meal of lobster, new potatoes, corn on the cob, and dinner rolls with a spätlese wine, and we devoured it. I am completely full and I couldn’t even eat half of my lobster! I am so lucky to have such a fabulous husband, who is also such a good cook! It’s a nice change to come home after a long day at work and not have to cook dinner, or worry about eating out and all of the money/calories that can add up that way.

I need to go pack before my glass of wine kicks in and puts me to sleep… but I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday wherever you may be! Do you or your family have any fun or different traditions?

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer B permalink
    November 25, 2009 9:55 am

    I love your new Thanksgiving tradition! We spend Thanksgiving at Blaine’s sister’s house in Columbia. There is a constant flow of wine 🙂 and we pull out games Thanksgiving night. Our favorites are “Pass the Pigs” (you can find it anywhere…lots of fun) and Trivial Pursuit. Blaine’s family has some sort of genius gene in their blood line, so they are really good at Trivial Pursuit…I, on the other hand, end up looking like a complete idiot. It’s still lots of fun, though! Happy Thanksgiving to you and Howdy!

  2. Stephanie permalink
    November 26, 2009 10:17 am

    I grew up with the Macy’s Day Parade on the TV every Thanksgiving morning with the smells of Mom’s cooking filling the house. It doesn’t seem like Thanksgiving to me unless I get to catch some of the parade!

Leave a Reply

