Skip to content

Book Review: The Next Thing on My List

November 18, 2009

The Next Thing on My List by Jill Smolinski was the November book for my book club. June Parker attended a Weight Watchers meeting looking for motivation to lose those “last 10 pounds”. Afterward she offers a ride to a girl she met at the meeting. Marissa is 24 and recently lost over 100 pounds. During the drive home, Marissa takes off her seatbelt to reach into the backseat. At that moment, a dresser falls off of the truck in front of them, June swerves to avoid it, and the car rolls several times. June survives, but Marissa does not. Among Marissa’s things June finds a list entitled “20 Things to Do by My 25th Birthday”. Ultimately, June decides she wants to complete the list before the day that would have been Marissa’s 25th birthday.

This book is about the various things that June must do to complete Marissa’s list, and how she changes her own life in the process. I read some other reviews where the reviewer found the ending disappointing. I actually thought it was realistic and appreciated the way the author wrapped up the story. The book made me think about the things that I would like to do in my own life. It was also interesting, and gratifying, to realize how many of things I would have put on such a list when I graduated high school that I would be able to cross off now. This was a thoughtful, quick read. I read the entire book in about 3 hours the day I bought it. I think it’s a perfect book club book though, and I gave it 3 stars on goodreads.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 19, 2009 10:54 pm

    Love the book review!! I love to read. Thanks for commenting no my blog!! Let me know how New Moon is haha – I’m going to try to see it the week after…if the line-ups ever die down haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

