Skip to content

Book Review: The Murder of King Tut

October 27, 2009

I read The Murder of King Tut by James Patterson on my flight to Dallas this past weekend. This book is supposed to be a “Non-Fiction Thriller” according to the title page. I would not consider this book a thriller, although there was a mystery element, and it was interesting. Patterson (with co-author Martin Dugard – typical Patterson) alternates the story between 3 separate perspectives: his own 21st century point of view, that of Howard Carter (1891-1931), as well as Ancient Egypt (1492-1324 BC). Frankly, I could have done without Patterson’s point of view. I did find the facts about Ancient Egypt, such as the day-to-day life, designs of the tombs, and the background of Tut and his family, very interesting. Patterson’s books are always fast-paced, and his writing style and chapter breaks keep you engrossed in the story. Prior to reading this book, I knew very little about the discovery of Tut’s tomb – only vague tidbits I remembered from going to see the exhibit at a museum when I was a kid. I liked the details and character descriptions of Howard Carter and his lifelong fascination with Egypt. I thought the story of Tut and his wife (and half-sister) Ankhesenpaaten was sad, but sweet. This is written in story form, so it’s not a dry, bland non-fiction book like some. However, it is clear that non-fiction is not Patterson’s genre. While the subject-matter interested me, and the book was perfect for my plane ride, it was just okay.

I wouldn’t exactly recommend this book, but I wouldn’t not recommend it either. If it sounds like it’s your kind of thing, you’d probably like it…if it’s not your typical genre, well – you might not like it. I gave this 2 stars on goodreads, although I wished I could have given it 2.5. It was a little better than “ok”, but I wouldn’t put it in the “liked it” category either – I’m pretty stingy with my star ratings. 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 28, 2009 7:38 pm

    I love that you’re stingy with your star ratings. I have gotten stingier. Once you read some really amazing books, it’s hard to give 5 stars to a chick lit, you know? I don’t think I’ll be reading this one, but since I usually see what you’re reading and throw it on my to-read list since I trust you, I’m really glad you do reviews 🙂

Leave a Reply

