Skip to content

Race for the Cure and my one year running anniversary

October 18, 2009

One year ago today I ran the Race for the Cure – well, I ran the first 3/4 of a mile, then had to walk because of a pulled hip flexor muscle. It was the first race I ever participated in, and definitely the first time I had done anything resembling running in about 5 years. I spent the walking part of the race discussing with my friend Cristin how much I hated running. Until that day I had never, repeat NEVER, run outside. I was telling her all the reasons I disliked it, and she said that she had felt the same way too, but that she started running with her husband and one day she just realized she liked it, and now she preferred running outside. I decided right there that if she could go from hating it to enjoying it, then so could I! After the race I signed up for the Thanksgiving Day Turkey Trot 5k in downtown Charleston. It was about 5 weeks away, so I had time to go from running 0 miles, to running a 5k. I followed my 5k debut with another 5k (The Reindeer Run) the weekend after Thanksgiving. After that I started setting goals, like running 100 miles, running the Bridge Run in April, and running my first half-marathon. It’s amazing to me how far I have come in just one year, and how much further I still want to go!

The 2009 Race for the Cure was yesterday. Somehow I had pulled a muscle in my lower back, and had been in serious pain all week. I woke up yesterday morning with only a slight twinge in my back, and felt like I could make it through the run, so I went. Despite the rain we had all week, yesterday was a perfect day for running. It was slightly overcast and around 56 degrees when the race started, no rain in sight. I met up with Danielle S. and some of her friends that I had met once or twice, and we hung out until the race started. I found out that the Charleston Race for the Cure is the second largest race in South Carolina (behind the Bridge Run), and the largest 5k in the state – which makes it interesting that they don’t have any time corrals set up. It is annoying during a race to constantly dodge all of the walkers, and especially people with strollers, who for some reason start at the front. Why?! There were around 8200 participants this year, which was a record turnout. I teared up a couple of times seeing the “in memory of” shirts and signs on the people around me. One especially got to me – there were 2 pretty girls, probably between 18-22 who each had an “in memory of” paper pinned to their backs, with a picture of a gorgeous, glowing blonde woman. She looked to be in her late 30s or early 40s when the picture was taken. Even thinking about it now is making me tear up again. It’s so sad to put a face to the disease. I’ve been so blessed that up until now cancer has not been a part of my life. I have not known anyone directly who has suffered from any form of cancer – I hope it stays that way. But my heart goes out to my friends who have family members (and/or close friends) who have been forced to battle this terrible disease.

It felt so good to run this race, especially after not being able to walk, sit, or stand without pain all week leading up to it. I hadn’t been able to do any form of exercise all week, and I hadn’t run in about 3 weeks, so I was just excited to get out there and get running again. I mentioned in a previous post that I was burnt out on running. This race helped me to get past that. I also think the colder weather was a huge contributing factor. I just love, love, love to run in these temperatures!

updated to add: I’m going to celebrate my one-year anniversary by buying some new dance shoes today. 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 18, 2009 2:59 pm

    Hooray! You’re my hero and inspired me to start running. Now that I’m off the antibiotic and feeling normal again, I should be able to get back to it this week!

Leave a Reply

