Skip to content

So what now?

October 9, 2009

Well, now that we know we’re moving to Alaska, I find myself in a dilemma. There is so much to do, that I don’t know what to do first! Specifically with my job… I’m not really happy right now, in addition to the usual stuff, I hate to be micro-managed. I’m neurotic enough about managing myself, I don’t need someone else to do it too. They just implemented some annoying procedures that essentially result in every minute of our day being accounted for. So basically, I’m not feeling that – at. all. I told my manager that we will probably be moving next summer, and that I was willing to transition to another job within the company, but it would not make sense for me to continue in my current position from Alaska. He said they would try to work with me, but didn’t make any guarantees and also alluded to the fact that it might not happen by then. But if nothing changes relatively soon, then there’s no point in staying – especially with all the other things I have to do, such as:

  • Figure out whether to sell or rent our house here
  • Study for and take the GRE
  • Apply to a graduate program at the University of Alaska
  • Take a trip to Alaska to figure out where we’re going to live
  • Donate, sell, or throw out all the stuff we don’t want to move
  • Take a trip to Germany
  • …and about a million other things that it stresses me out to think about right now!

So what next? I wish that Howdy was home so we could sit down and make plans – and lists! I love lists! πŸ™‚ In the meantime, I go ’round and ’round in my head about what I should do now. I want to do something! I hate waiting. I am not a patient person by any means, but it’s worse when it’s something I’ve been looking forward to for a long time. I feel like I’m being pulled in 10 directions at once, so again I say – what now?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. bnaux09 permalink
    October 10, 2009 7:40 pm

    I’m such a list whore. I make them for everything. I think you should quit your job. Focus on getting yourself ready and enjoying your last few months in a place you’ve loved living. If you need something to do, get a part-time gig at Barnes and Noble or something. You don’t need to stress about a job right now. I’d enjoy the next few months. Just my two cents πŸ™‚

  2. bnaux09 permalink
    October 10, 2009 7:40 pm

    oops, that was *uncorked, just made a blog for my foundation and forgot to log out πŸ™‚

  3. October 10, 2009 11:07 pm

    haha! I did wonder who it was at first πŸ™‚

  4. PBM permalink
    October 12, 2009 11:32 am

    I COMPLETELY agree!!!

  5. October 12, 2009 11:56 pm

    Quit your job, I will drive down, and we can spend a M-F hanging out in Charleston. Weekends are so tough for a visit b/c they are too short!

  6. October 13, 2009 4:13 pm

    I want to come when J goes to visit.

Leave a Reply

