Skip to content

Aloha!!

September 10, 2009

Hawaii was fantastic! We had so much fun. We were on Oahu for 8 nights, 9 days, staying just off Waikiki beach. It was Howdy’s first trip to Hawaii, and I hadn’t been since my family went to Maui when I was 11 (which is not at all the same), so it was fun to experience something new together. We stayed in Honolulu, and got an excellent price on a convertible rental car for the week (thank you Priceline!). Over the course of the week, we shopped at the largest open-air mall in the world, Ala Moana, which was arguably the best mall I’ve ever been to – and that’s saying something!

We  stopped several times at Patisserie La Palme D’or which was highly recommended to me by a woman I met here in Charleston:

We climbed Diamond Head Crater:

View from Diamond Head

View from Diamond Head

We went to North Shore, and swam under Waimea Falls, and jumped off of a huge rock into Waimea Bay. If you look closely at the picture below, you will see the people on top of the rock in the bottom right corner. It doesn’t look big in the picture, but it was probably 30-40 feet high:

Waimea Bay

Waimea Bay

We visited Pearl Harbor:

USS Arizona Memorial - Pearl Harbor

USS Arizona Memorial - Pearl Harbor

We spent an entire afternoon enjoying some great surf on boogie boards at a beach on the east side of the island. There were probably 8 other people on the beach, and it was breathtaking:

Beach at Bellows

Beach at Bellows

 We did several other fun activities, including a luau and our friends’ wedding. We also celebrated my birthday by going to dinner at Roy’s – Waikiki location. It was so good!! 

Overall, the trip was wonderful, and I enjoyed it so much! I definitely wouldn’t mind living there, although the only downside I see is the rush-hour traffic… but it would be worth it to be near those beaches (and Ala Moana!). 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ken Kendall permalink
    September 10, 2009 1:57 pm

    Hawaii is great.

    I just started a new blog on marriage and how men can better love their wives. I would love your comments and feedback.

    http://whatsheneedsfromyou.wordpress.com

    Thanks,

  2. Michelle T. permalink
    September 10, 2009 4:35 pm

    if I lived there, I wouldn’t work!! love your pix, glad you had a great time.

    • September 11, 2009 2:03 pm

      I would not want to work either…but if I planned on shopping at Ala Moana with any frequency, I would have to. ha.

  3. September 13, 2009 10:50 pm

    I should be leaving this comment on your Friday 5 answers, but I saw that you were just here in Hawaii and am so glad you had a great time! I hope you spent LOTS and LOTS of money! Bellows is a favorite beach of mine, and if there were only 8 other people, you were probably on the military-only side, which is always nice.

    I have lived here my whole life and have never jumped off suicide rock. So you’re awesome! And thanks for participating in this week’s Friday 5!

Leave a Reply

