Skip to content

My first half-marathon

August 12, 2009

The E.T. Full Moon Midnight half-marathon was last weekend. This was my first half-marathon and my first time running 13+ miles. I flew to Vegas via Atlanta on Friday night after work. I had a 3hr layover in Atlanta and saw some interesting people…like this guy:

I finally landed in Vegas at 12:30am local time (3:30am according to the body-clock). Amy picked me up and we went back to their place where I promptly passed out in the guest room. I woke up around 9am (local time), and it was race day. Amy and I had granola and yogurt for breakfast with orange juice. For lunch we went to Sushi Loco and over-indulged on inappropriately-named sushi (their rolls had names like “i love my ass”, “tastes like ex-girlfriend”, “68 and I owe you one”, etc…).  We spent the rest of the day running errands, most of which revolved around reflective tape. We had subs for dinner around 7-ish. At 8:45 we got in the car and headed out to Rachel, NV (aka: the middle of the desert). We got there around 11:30pm and Tim dropped Amy and I off at the start which our packets cryptically specified as the Black Mailbox 20 miles east of the junction of 2 highways (there was no parking, except at the end of the race).

You know it’s going to be an interesting event when they say you can wear iPods, as long as you keep the volume low enough so you can still hear the rattle of a snake, and to watch out for cows in the roadway. Oh, and did I forget to mention that we were required to wear headlamps, or carry a flashlight, as well as wear reflective clothing? Runners were dressed as aliens and we all had glowsticks around our arms/necks. The race was up in the mountains near Area 51. They had a 51k, marathon, half-marathon, and 10k. There were more runners than we had expected, but it was so fun.

The half-marathon started at 12:30am (keep in mind, this is 24 hours after I landed in Vegas, so still 3:30am body-clock time). We were literally running down the side of the highway, which was not blocked off – not that there was anyone else out there. The website says: “The 1/2 Marathon course climbs the first 6 miles to Coyote Summit. The climb is steady, with it’s steepest point being from 4.5 to 6 miles. From there you’re rewarded with a descent off of Coyote Summit at 5591 and finishes in the town of Rachel at 4970 feet”. I was definitely not ready for the climb/elevation, since Charleston is basically below sea level and completely flat. There were no lights or buildings or anything really, for the entire 13+ miles. At the very end of the race there was a little shack-like cafe (called “The Little A’le’Inn” – pronounced alien), but that was it.

I really enjoyed this run. I ran the entire way except for when I needed to drink. It was nice and peaceful. I was disappointed I didn’t see any UFOs, but I did see 7 shooting stars, so that was pretty awesome. I was proud of myself for running that far, and I felt good most of the way. My knees started to hurt quite a bit around mile 9, and I lost one of my water bottles from my hydration belt somewhere between miles 11-12, but overall – it was such a good race for my first half. It was just fun and laid back. I will definitely do another half. Right now, I’m planning on running either the White Rock half or the Kiawah Island half in December. I may or may not do another before then – I haven’t looked into the schedules yet. So I guess we’ll see. I know I can do the distance, now I can just work on improving every time!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2009 8:31 am

    Congrats! You’re my hero.

  2. Stephanie permalink
    August 13, 2009 10:30 am

    Way to go, Michelle!

  3. August 13, 2009 11:48 am

    So proud of you!

  4. August 18, 2009 1:49 am

    wow, congrats girl!!!

    i could never. ever. dream. of. doing. that.

  5. PBM permalink
    August 18, 2009 10:37 pm

    Love you

  6. October 29, 2009 12:18 am

    This is a hysterical picture and made me laugh out loud! I would have judged too! PS I think its awesome that you ran an half marathon. I have aspirations of running one in July but I have not ran once this week and feeling ashamed already 😦 Good for you!

  7. April 21, 2014 11:58 pm

    yes but only a little .. Last January 9 2009 I alaedry shut our communications off until today but I think it’s making me sick because I miss her so much and I love her so much.. I can’t imagine that I’m doing it to her.. Maybe she’s wondering why i am like this now adays.. She also said that it is better if we will be friends but i don’t want to be her friend, i want to be her boyfriend.. Gosh!.. I never thought that this situation that i can see from others can also happen to us..Can someone help so i can get my girlfriend back..? I love her so much and i don’t want our relationship to be gone forever.. Please, i beg you.. I need your help.. I don’t want to cry everyday and everynight thinking of her and the things that we are doing everyday.. I will do anything for the sake of our relationship.. T_T HELP!.. please..Additional info that i think will also help you on giving me tips and advices:Our JS Promenade is on January 24 2008..I’m expecting of your help.. thanks a lot.. and take care.. I need tips please..

Leave a Reply

