Skip to content

Book Review: Vino in Vo

August 4, 2009

I borrowed Vino in Vo by Chrisy Krueger from V while I was in Chicago this past weekend. This was a sweet story of an unlikely friendship that develops between three women whose husbands are in the Army and deployed to Iraq during Operation Iraqi Freedom. The women are left behind in Vicenza, Italy during a year-long deployment. The author is an Army wife who was stationed in Italy during that time, and she clearly draws on her experiences throughout this book. While the writing and plot are both somewhat simple, lacking complexity and depth, I think it was a nice, quick read and would recommend it. I did not really relate to any of the characters, which somewhat surprised me. There were pieces of each that I identified with, but where I recognized myself most was in their collective feelings/fears surrounding their husbands’ deployment – and of course, keeping their phones with them at all times, just in case he might call. I did enjoy the Italian scenes in this book. When I was in Italy during college, we were near Vicenza, and spent time in some of the same places as the characters (although not Vo).
I would recommend Vino in Vo to any military wife (or friends of military wives).  However, I do not recommend reading it while your husband is deployed, or gone for an extended period of time. I haven’t seen my husband much this year, and he is currently out of the country, so I don’t think I picked the best time to read this book. In some ways it made me feel more lonely than usual, as I get pretty emotionally invested in the books I read.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2009 11:43 am

    Definitely agree with you on depth and story, I still liked it though. I also loved the descriptions in Vicenza and fell in love with Italy again through the book. I think you and I should make a pilgrimage to Vo and drink a lot of wine.

  2. August 11, 2009 1:08 am

    aw, that book sounds amazing. italy= amazing. wine= amazing. friends=eh, whatever. just kidding.

    love it.

Leave a Reply

