Skip to content

Book Review: In Praise of Slowness

July 25, 2009

In Praise of Slowness by Carl Honoré was right on target for me. Honoré gives a wonderful argument supporting the first quote in the book- “There is more to life than increasing its speed” (Gandhi). He devotes chapters to the benefit of slowness in areas such as Food, Medicine, Sex, Work, Leisure, and Children. The chapter on work was especially poignant for me, as finding a way to slow down and balance my job with pleasurable activities, friends, family, and hobbies has recently become a major priority for me. This book does not vilify technology or times when speed is necessary. Instead, it focuses on finding balance and realizing that there are times when slower is better. If you feel stressed out or that time is slipping away from you and there is never enough of it, I encourage you to read this book. It will definitely give you a new perspective on time and life – and may even inspire you to slow down.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 5minutespeace permalink
    July 25, 2009 5:46 pm

    Hi,
    This books sounds like it would complement another i recently read by Elizabeth Gilbert called, ‘Eat, Pray, Love’. It is the most wonderful, resounding book i have read and whilst I am only the tender age of 21, the book still spoke a lot to me.

    When you mention the slowing of pace in life, it reminded me of a section in Eat, Pray, Love in which Elizabeth goes to India to meditate and it is all about finding that balance especially in our everyday consumption. Definitely worth a read if you enjoyed In Praise of Slowness.

    I will certainly be taking a look following your review.

    Lucy

  2. Jennifer Baker permalink
    July 25, 2009 5:48 pm

    Blaine and I will let you know how we like it once we have read this book..you’ve got us hooked!!

  3. July 25, 2009 6:08 pm

    Lucy – There are definitely similar themes between ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ and ‘In Praise of Slowness’. I would say the main difference between the two is that ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ is more memoir and ‘In Praise of Slowness’ is more research driven (although he does try out some of the more convincing ways to slow down). Elizabeth Gilbert tells the story of how she regained balance and happiness in her life, and Carl Honore offers more an an argument in favor of slowing down and the various ways that can be accomplished.

    Jen – let me know if you want to borrow it. 🙂 My step-mom actually recommended it to me almost 5 years ago, and I just got around to reading it. ha

  4. July 28, 2009 4:18 pm

    boy do i ever need help balancing.

    my life is a wreck!

  5. July 29, 2009 1:18 pm

    mine too…although all it really did was reinforce my desire to quit my job. haha

Leave a Reply

