Skip to content

Book Review: The Wednesday Sisters

July 13, 2009

I read The Wednesday Sisters: A Novel by Meg Waite Clayton for my book club this month. This book is a perfect book club book. It tells the story of 5 women who are wives and mothers in the 60s. They meet at a park on a Wednesday morning, and begin a writing group, “The Wednesday Sisters Writing Society”. The story is told from the first-person perspective of one of the women named Frankie (Mary Francis O’Mara). The book is written so that you feel that you are reminiscing along with Frankie about the friendships that form between the other 4 women and herself. She discusses the challenges they face with their friendship, marriages, health, political changes, reaching their goals and dreams, etc… It’s almost as though you’re reading her blog. Although there were several times where I lost track of who was who (especially between Kath and Linda for some reason), I very much enjoyed this book. I think Brett was my favorite of the ladies, but I’m sure each person who reads this will find a different character that they identify with most. As I said before – perfect for a women’s book club. Although I classify this as “chick-lit”, it’s not your standard, vapid chick-lit. I definitely recommend reading this with your girlfriends.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 21, 2014 5:37 pm

    I loved the suggestion of wine or bread. I adrlaey practice the other restaurant rules, but I have one other suggestion. Restaurant dinners are nearly always large enough for at least 2 meals. I will often ask for a take-home box WITH my meal and put at least half of my meal in the box BEFORE I eat. This works on the road, too, if you have a cooler and hotel room with a microwave.

Leave a Reply

