Skip to content

There’s a Rat in my grill, Part 2

March 29, 2009

So, if you read my post from a few weeks ago, you know the last time we had a big storm, I got home at 3am and a rat had taken refuge from the rain in my grill… 

Fast-forward to yesterday – Our next big storm. It rained all day yesterday at my house. It has rained a couple of times since the “rat incident” but not as much as it did yesterday. After the last time, I took the advice of someone who commented on my blog and dumped a ton of chili powder in the grill to hopefully keep the rat from getting in there in the future. Well, either the rat didn’t mind the chili powder, or being out in the rain was the greater of two evils, because sure enough, that disgusting rat was back in my grill last night!!

Again, Nelson was the one who discovered him. By the way Nelson was jumping at the grill and freaking out, I was pretty sure he was in there. I was even willing to give Nelson the benefit of the doubt… but then it started to worry me that maybe he had been in there, but wasn’t in there any more and Nelson was going to hurt himself trying to get into the grill. So, my concern and curiosity got the better of me, and I leaned out of my house just far enough to grab the handle of the lid and lift it up a little- Just enough to see the gray furry body of the rat moving around in the bottom of the grill. I dropped the lid with a slam, cursing my stupid curiosity.

This morning the sun is out, and the rain is gone, and so is the rat. I know he’s somewhere in or around my backyard, and the next rainstorm he’ll be right back in my grill, unless I can figure out what to do about this… I’m still looking for something other than rat poison. Rat poison could potentially harm my dogs, and I would rather have my boys alive and a rat in the grill, than to accidentally hurt them trying to get rid of a rat that really isn’t doing anything except freaking me out.

Ugh… it’s times like this that I really wish my husband was home… 😦

4 Comments leave one →
  1. kelly permalink
    March 29, 2009 10:46 am

    get a live rat trap, the rat trap paper, or a rat trap that kills and put it infront of the hole that the rat uses to get into the grill. Then you can catch the rat net time it rains.

  2. Julie permalink
    March 30, 2009 10:59 am

    Can you turn the grill on and cook the little bugger?

  3. March 30, 2009 3:16 pm

    oh no! i don’t know what you should do, but definitely do not use rat poison. can’t be good for pups or burgers later on.

  4. August 28, 2013 8:37 am

    Green Juice
    Green Machine

Leave a Reply

